INTRODUCE MYSELF

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys,

I just wanted to introduce myself to the community

My name is Shawn and I was introduced to steemit by a good friend of mine who is a fellow crypto trader and investor.
I got a little ahead of myself by posting my first article without introducing myself first, but I hope many would agree, I felt it was crucial to post it now in light of the recent retracements many of the crypto currencies have had in the last month. So I hope you all will forgive me

I mean, what can I say about steemit. I think once I researched this company and its potential, that little light bulb came on in my head –that I’m sure most of you experienced as well- and I realized how groundbreaking this community really was.
Even though I’ve just begun actually following people, there is a long list of contributors that I have already watched and who’s articles I’ve read from google searches in the past that I will soon be adding to my list of favorites. The caliber of articles and the comradery shown on steemit is just truly special.

I’ve worked in the Retail/Financial sector for a little over 20 years and during that journey I’ve invested, speculated, researched and learned many things in these areas. After witnessing what debt can do to individuals-mentally and financially, I hope I can educate and inspire people to take control of these areas and help them break the shackles of this life changing issue. I understand many are already educated in this field, but I hope I can reach others that are in need of help.

I’m also an avid photographer and love to experiment with all of the up and coming cameras and software that are being introduced every day.

I’ve also learned a great deal about business and investing and have been fascinated by the crypto evolution taking place right now. I alluded to this in my first article I posted. This is going to entrench its place in history, and I hope I can contribute to the success of others and ride this crazy train until the next destination arrives.

I’ve also become older and wiser as the years have gone by, surrendering my youth slowly but surely, but I hope to contribute some things I’ve learned which will hopefully help and inspire others.

I’ve always been involved in sports and team centered activities at work and in sports, so I love the fact that I can collaborate, speculate, debate and become part of a team of smart, open minded and talented people.

I hope to meet new friends and colleagues and experience this awesome journey with everyone.

All the best,

Shawn Bates

Sort:  

upvoting

Thanks hotdogs..much appreciated my friend

welcome to steemit

Thanks hrsagar!!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by elina from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Welcome to Steem @shawnster I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks for the welcome Botty..and thanks for the donation..All the best

Followed you after Haejin shared some of your insight into BTC movement - good analysis !

Thanks batfinkler...much appreciated friend..i know it's hard to charter these waters and nobody knows really what will happen but if you read my article about when i invested during the tech boom, you will realize we are far from over on this train ride..all the best to you friend...cheers

Welcome to Steemit,
Glad to see more people like you.
Nice post, I just upvoted your post and followed you.
I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me at @chantha! I will upvote your future posts!

Thanks for the welcome chantha..love the post..haha...cheers my friend

A new Steemian :-) hello @shawnster I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Hello tradewonk...thanks for the great welcome friend..i appreciate you taking the time..glad to be on this journey with you

Nice to meet ya joey..thanks for the welcome

Welcome to Steemit, Shawn.

Where are you from? I see that you are an 'avid photographer', will you be posting photos here?

What camera gear can you vouch for? I am looking for my 1st DSLR.

_Rob

Absolutely Rob...thanks man..Yes I love photography...I have a pentax K30 and K3 and I also have a Sony alpha NEX7 24.3 mega pixel mirrorless camera converted to infrared which I'll be posting about in a day or two..it's an interesting concept. BTW, as far as recommendations..to be honest all of the entry level DSLR's are awesome..the technology has just got so advanced at neck breaking speed. I'm partial to Pentax. They were taken over by Ricoh which gave them more funding and have since released some awesome cameras and lenses. And if you are looking for a used one just to dip your feet, B&H photo is a trusted seller. They put them through the ringer before selling them again. Below is a link to some of my work. I've still got gobs to post, but you know how that goes..Hope this helps and let me know if you have any questions.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/smb-photo/?ytcheck=1&new_session=1

Wow... Thanks a ton for such an informative reply to my question. And for letting me know that all entry level DLSR's will be good enough.

I just don't want to spend a fortune, then have nothing to upgrade to :)

I will check out a Pentax on B&H, per your recommendation.

And wow... this photo; https://www.flickr.com/photos/smb-photo/15314830251/in/photostream/

Probably the most amazing photo, I have ever seen.

I first thought the Helmsman photo was taken in Gloucester, Ma.

_Rob

No problem Rob...Thanks again for the comments my friend..glad you liked the photo. Man that place is nice up in northern california...the only thing is that the lake bed was so dry because of the drought..but this was before the well needed rains we had a few months ago which officially brought us out of the drought (for now) haha..thanks Rob..if you have any questions about other cameras as well..let me know..there's so many

I will remember you, when I make the dive and purchase. Thanks for looking out!

_Rob

Thanks coldsteem..really appreciate you taking the time friend

Welcome to this platform. We wish a lot of things that you want here. I am Reza from Aceh, Sumatra wants to meet you. Please follow me on @elhakimi and I will give the vote to you. Thank you..

Thank you elhakimi..will do my friend..look forward to it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71