Introducing Myself

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)


<html> Hello Steemit community!

I have been trying to gain the courage to formulate myself and write this introduction. I find it quite surprising how difficult it is to break down ones life and expose it, so this intro might be quite choppy as I am a true newbie when it comes to this world but am excited to be a part of such a large positive and thriving society!

So, my name is Melina I was born in Australia but my background is German/Korean/Japanese and currently live in Europe. I have been fortunate enough to travel and live in amazing various places whilst growing up, one of them being Beijing. Besides learning to ride a bike with training wheels at the age of 10... one large problem I have dealt with due to this lifestyle is I guess some form of identity crisis. I don't know where I would confidently say I am from or where "home" is... when I am in one of the countries I am "from" I always feel like an outlander. So even though I get a taste of all worlds it has been a little hard sometimes...but i have also learnt that "where you are from" rarely matters. It isn't significant where you are from but who you are, the experiences that build your personality and your actions.

I don't know what I have to offer to this community just yet but I believe we can share our experiences and learn from each other, therefore I will be posting personal experiences, the ins and outs of places I have lived and travelled to so that maybe when you travel there also you can keep and eye out for the things I mention :)

I am currently half way through my Masters and I am studying Molecular Life Sciences in Microbiology, Biochemistry and Biotechnology. Yes I love the sciences and proud to be nerdy! I thus may post some random but very cool things I am working on in the lab. I also love art, so when I don't have artists block, have the time for myself and have the confidence to start something new I do create a few pieces which I plan to share with you guys as well to push myself into continuing that passion of mine. 

Another large part of my life is my boyfriend, we have been together for over six years. Five of those six years were long distance...from Germany to Australia, which wasn't easy but worth the wait. Many of my friends have urged me to write about our relationship and share how we got through the distance so I have decided to share our adventure with you all in the near future which may or may not help others, as every relationship is different but I can definitely say I wouldn't have minded some advice during the distance :P
Oh and since my better half and I are crazy foodies, be expecting some photos and loved recipes!!

It is a pleasure to be here and I am excited to read your posts as well!
Thanks for reading!
This is me by the way :) I don't know if the upload will work... I would appreciate if someone could tell me how to upload pictures properly :P

![IMG_2758.jpg]()

<html> 

Sort:  

Thanks! love the Gif! :)

Congratulations @schwido! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome ;)
The picture is not showing in your Post - I would just delete the link and drag the picture directly in the editor, works better ;)
And you can delete the html in the beginning and at the end ;)
You maybe should use a little markdown cheatsheet: https://github.com/adam-p/markdown-here/wiki/Markdown-Cheatsheet ;)
Greets

Hey thanks for the tip but for some reason it will not let me post without the Html "HTML posts must begin and end with HTML
But the photo worked!

Are you using html oder just markdown? Just stay with markdown, it's way easier!

Oooh now i know what you mean :) Yup from now i'll stick to markdown! Thanks again

Great - resteemed you via @welcoming btw. - A page where I share promising new users! :)

awesome :)

Hello love how are you ;)

right back at ya love

welcome! Im glad youve decided to joined the party!

Long live and prosper.

Thanks I'm glad to be here :)

Welcome to steemit, @schwido!

Well, a very nice post and a nice smile(?) to complete. :D

My profile is @flashfiction and i would like to present you some links i found really useful when i first signed up here. They will make you start with the right foot on Steemit!

These links will all open on the SAME TAB (Yeah, i know...), so i recommend opening them with "right click->open in a new tab".

LinkCheckDescription
Growing FastTopYou HAVE to register here, if you want to build an audience FAST. It's a free service for boosting exposure, upvotes and followers. You just have to click on "login". Have your key at hand (That awfully long number you got when you signed up on Steemit). The tutorials are easy to follow.
All about steem coinsTopThere are three coins of use on Steemit, and understanding them is critical for your success. This is a short explaining video, the very best i've found.
MarkdownTopEven if you can use some basic HTML on your posts, the correct way to format them is NOT HTML. You use a marking ruleset called, yeah, "Markdown". Have this as a complete reference.
PostingMediumThe top activities on this site are posting, upvoting and commenting. This is an excellent tutorial about making your posts look great. Don't miss it!
UpvotingMediumYeah, you tought upvoting was just a matter of machine-gunning your clicks and make easy bucks. Nah. It is actually a little more complicated than that. All you need to know is here.
Better interfaceMediumLet's face it: The interface on Steemit is pretty basic. "Busy" is an alternate interface you can use, more polished and easy to navigate. Both of them can be used simultaneously. Again, you just have to login.
Using BotsMediumThere are a lot of things to learn about this platform, and understanding bots is one of the most important. They are little different services you can access for a fee. I found this tutorial extremely useful.
Trevon JamesMediumI know, i know... there are lots and lots of GREAT steemians here for picking one to recommend, but i just love Trevon's style. He explains EVERYTHING you need to know about Steemit (and crypto) in a funny, accesible way. Check him out.
@flashfictionAwesomeWell, duh. My profile! ;) I write short fiction and tutorials on creative writing. I would be honored if you'd follow me.

Anything i cand help you with, i'm at your service!

See you around!

Thanks @flashfiction I appreciate the tips and will look into the links

welcome my friend! glad you came!

From one newbie to another, I think we all don’t know exactly what we’re doing lol welcome

haha that makes me feel a little better :P

welcome to the magic that is steemit!

WELCOME!!! I joined last week and I love it .. I also had trouble with the editor when I started off. It's a bit tricky.

Thanks nice to know we're all on the same boat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39