Time to spin the wheel, let´s make Steemit multilingual...!

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Meet

My choice, my project, my life...!

The best choice my life...

Finally, the black sheep of the family has made it!
After all those years, all that wasted talent, all the problems to my family:
A save job in a goodcompany, decent salary, vacation money, bonus payments, health insurance, a regular working schedule, etc... and all this for an indefinite period.

SCREW IT!

This appears like hell to me...

When I was on a winter vacation in Crete, I meet that girl, fell in #love and took the opportunity:

I threw all that security over board entered a plane and move to #Crete. Ready to pick oranges or olives or do whatever for a living…to realize that one dream, not just talking about it.

But, my private story is not, what this post is about...

None of those “plans” for a living worked out, so I remembered that I am speaking 5 languages and checked the opportunities for working as a freelance translator.

An ambitious project…

Starting from scratch, learning the business, finding my way!
Well, this went quite well, as it turned out that people like the work I deliver as well as my personal approach towards customers.

Freedom, Sweat and Happiness...

I never worked so many hours in my life…but, I am my own boss!
I am working for #myself, no boss!
And I can choose, from where I work, it doesn´t matter… as long as I do have an internet connection…
I can choose, if I want to have days off or if I want to make money…
That´s a lot more than lots of people can determine n their lives, but it just half the way toward the freedom, that I imagine in my life as I still depend on customers and deadlines.

Translations…

I am, working in several fields, financial, social, software, legal, website…everything I like, is gonna be translated and localized!
And…some argument against cloud translations:
A good translation needs to be consistent in terminology, in style etc…cloud translations need a lot of editing, proof reading etc…!

But as it is still MY #project I can spin it in the direction I want.
And that´s the point when we start talking about #steemit!

It is one year now that I am in that business, it is going very well…so, time again to risk something and spin the wheel:

Making Steemit a #multilingual project…!

Translations are much more than just translating a text word by word. You have also to translate the author´s tone, his humor and a text needs to be localized…if the author is playing with HIS language, the translator has to transfer this into his own language.
Therefore, the target language should always be the translator´s mother language.
E.g. I am German... and writing in English as most of you guys do not speak German at all (you should, eh… ;)!).
Like this I cannot express myself a 100% as I would like t, as I am limited in English, even after 10 years of multinational relations and jobs, handling like 60 % of my life in foreign languages.
Same for English native speakers that want to express something in #German, #Greek, #Dutch or which language ever.

Building a new network…

Here on Steemit would be a great thing for all participants.
Your texts, your ideas can be transferred into all the languages of the world, they can be spread and shared… and... they will be recognized.
I am ready to work with all of you on linguistictopics and issues, making the network, making US grow!

Translation is copywriting...

So if there is a text and it´s translation: we do have 2(!) original contents and both, author and translator, will have an advantage from a collaboration.

The Steem-Infrastructure is growing every day...

I lately see, a lot of guys are building up tools to use with #steemit as #steemithelp and stuff.
There are UIs that need translation…manuals…terms and conditions….!

I see now, as I am working on the #steem #whitepaper that it is much more convenient getting something explained in one´s own language…! I am not a noob but yet I had problems understanding how Steemit works and what it is, when I just was reading the English documents. Now, that I am making it a German document, things become much clearer and logic!
And I am even more eager to participate in making this thing grow, even more excited!
If this project is meant to go more to mainstream, it seems mandatory to me, offering everything in the languages of the people that we want to participate.

Call to (linguistic) arms:

If you have things to be translated, questions about possibilities and options, comments, ideas or what so ever:
Get in touch with me, get access to more minds and hearts! Lets build a network within the network!

LANGUAGE IS THE KEY!

It is nature´s best algorithm.

Let´s use it!

Let´s make the world like WE want it, be free and indepentend!

Sort:  

I think it would be a nice thing if translators of popular posts to other languages were rewarded by Steemit community. In that case wide adoption is achievable much more quickier. As for now Steemit.com is more than 90% for english speaking readers.

Yes, I think so, too...that it would be a nice thing.

I mean, everyone is able to read in English, but not understanding every ittle thing.
If you are translating ino ur mother language, u find so many interesting, little things in a text, that you often do not see, just reading in a foreoign language.
This is for all kinds of content.

And what I have seen so far, especialy the Steem/it related things woud bring the community forward.
This project is so damn interesting,,,

Great idea!
Count me in for Greek.

Well hello.
I’m Elvis Hicks, a semi-autonomous reincarnation of Elvis Presley and Bill Hicks. I have a burger in one hand and a cigarette in the other.
My checks tell me this post is probably genuine, original content.
Thank you. Thank you very much.
(Elvis has left the building)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42