Let me tell you my story!

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Well, let me tell you my story!

I'm Brazilian, 23 years old currently living in São Paulo and very new on Steemit.
I came from a poor family from northeast Brazil that went to São Paulo for better opportunities in life. I have studied in a public school because my parents had no money to pay for my education and I grew up in a poor neighborhood with all sort of problems you can imagine.
I've started at my first job with 16-17 years old and then I realized how important was having a job, making money and, the most important, networking. When I finished High School, I've had money enough to travel around Europe for a couple months and... That's what I did.
As the only child I've had no one to play with while I was a kid, all my cousins were much older than me, so I enjoyed my solitude with books and an old computer that I had (windows 96). I don't know exactly when, but I've learned to speak English by myself, with music, books and the dictionary, I also learned how to fix any computer related problem. What I want to tell you with this story?
Well... I had "no opportunities" for a good education or going to a language school, my parents couldn't afford and all I had was my free time as a kid.

We often hear people say that when you are poor you don't have better chances in life, that you are discriminated, that women suffer from lots of different things, that when you're not white you are prejudged etc... well, I cannot agree with any of that... just because I realized that the most valuable thing we have in life is our time, and using your time wisely can make the difference.
I always enjoyed making tests and exams in school... my favorite time of the semester was during the exams... because there I could show how good or bad I could be at some specific subject, and my teacher would tell me what I should improve.

Once I told my story to a British guy I've known in Rio and so he asked me: "Don't you suffer from prejudice? You know... you are black, woman, Brazilian and from a poor family? Do you believe men have advantages over women?"
My answer to him was "Of course no! I've had great job opportunities cause I could show how good I could be performing that task, I've learned a new language without any teacher, I've travelled Europe with my own money , and right now I live in Ipanema, lass than 1km away from my current job... I'm actually very blessed and privileged" (I was living in Rio at that time)
He just got shocked, cause everybody told him the opposite.

I don't want to sound as I am better than anyone... I just wanted to show you how you can go after your goals and how you can make your dreams come true... and that the most important is to have humility and use your time wisely, cause time is money ;)
And now we have Steemit to help us on reaching our objectives and sharing life experiences!
You are free to choose what you want to do with your life... don't waste your time!

Thank you very much for reading!!

Cheers from Brazil

Sort:  

What amazing woman you are... and you really seem to be making the best of your time... love.

I love you <3

awwwwww so sweet ..........

You are a beautiful addition to the community! Good luck!

I agree , don't waste time of prejudices or assumptions. Let's just be truly interested in what we love or what we discover.
I wish the best in Brazil. I'm preparing an exam to become a primary school teacher, and this is exactly what I'll teach the kids : do not believe in categorization, get out of the box, show the world how smart you art !

Thanks for sharing some parts of your life !
If you're interested in my views on ife, maybe you could read my post : https://steemit.com/life/@stl.nolaim/let-s-talk-afraid-of-the-afterlife-what-if-death-could-be-lively

I hope you'll enjoy it and feel free to follow me if you did, and i'll do the same in return !

Thank you for your words!! I wish you the best at your journey and never forget, You'll inspire your students for their entire life... make this with love! Cheers from Brazil!

Thanks for the advice ! Will never forget it

Welcome to Steemit! That is a great introduction post and your attitude is quite refreshing. With new Steemian’s, I always have 3 pieces of advice for success. Be kind, be consistent, and be persistent. I hope you enjoy your time here and be sure to check out DTube and Dsound as well. These are the video and audio platforms that are based on the Steem Blockchain and are great additions to your Steemit world. As well, I hope you will look over some of my content and consider following along! Kindest regards.

This is very inspiring. It's nice to know that you conquer everything by always looking at the bright side of life. Always be motivated, we can do anything as long we have goals in life! In dreaming, there's no such thing as poor and rich! The important is how we take action to get it.

Cheers to you my steemit friend :) Stay positive!

Thank you very much for your words!! Exactly... you can do anything! Cheers

@samillee your post is great!

Excellent post!

I'm new to Steemit, it would be very helpful if you follow me and vote on my blog. @Fyahconde Check my content ... little by little I'll upload more and more.

Success and a Thousand Blessings for all.

Thank you!!! I've followed you... cheers! :)

That is awesome, thank you for sharing, it's really nice to meet you here! Couldn't agree more on "Don't waste your time". I know a lot of people who don't like what they are doing, they blame it on "the circumstances" but don't change it, anyway, because trying something new seems to be scary (and it sometimes is). It is so good to see that there are people like you who are positive and really do what they want. And to all others I'd often like to say however old someone might be, it's always time to realize that you might want to do something new and do it - as you said, don't waste your time!

Thank you very much for such sweet words! That's exactly what I think... you can choose in which circumstances you wanna be. And it's never too late for that. I hope more and more people can realize that. Cheers from Brazil.

Bem-vinda, @samillee! É bom ver a comunidade crescendo, vamos nessa ;)

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Opaaa! Nóis hahaha :)

please kindly follow back, such. beauty

Excellent Post!
Welcome to Steemit! It's Nice to meet you. :-)

Upvoted and followed!

(If you have any questions about working with Steemit just ask and I'll answer them if I can)

I hope you have lots of fun here and make many friends! :-)
Thank you for sharing! :-)

WELCOME-DREAMS-FLIGHT.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12