Hi, let me introduce myself. My name is Richard James and I am the Owner and Director of FUUD Ltd.

in #introducemyself7 years ago

Hi, let me introduce myself. My name is Richard James and I am the Owner and Director of FUUD Ltd. We provide a suite of bespoke catering services for private and corporate events and venues throughout the South East of England and are always working on fresh ideas to make every event special, memorable and stress free for our clients .

At school, I always loved home economics and felt comfortable in the kitchen after watching my mum cook every day. My first job at 15 was working weekends and school holidays at Access credit cards staff restaurant run by Gardiner Merchants which gave me my first professional insight into the catering world. I then gained a job a year later at the Halfway House on Southend seafront where I started to learn what it takes to run a successful kitchen and restaurant and how to work with the public, and I liked it. 

On leaving school I managed to get an apprenticeship at Trusthouse Forte with a fantastic opportunity to be based at The Hyde Park Hotel, London. I worked 5 days a week and attended Southend college, on a day release basis, where I studied Hospitality and Catering. After year one, I did a small stint at Le Gavroche in London which was a real eye opener into the catering world. After this I finished my City & Guilds whilst working for Wayne Hawkins at Paris restaurant, where as part of the fantastic small team, we gained a Red 'M' in the Michelin Guide. It made those 6 days a week and 14 hour days very rewarding! 

After a couple of years, it was time to take a bit of time out from the high-end pressure and I moved on to Mamma Mia's in Southend as a Pizza Chef and was quickly promoted to second chef. This move meant a different sort of pressure, we were cooking for 200 plus in the week and for between 250 and 300 on the busy weekend nights back then. After 18 months, it was time to go back to the higher end of the restaurant scene. I had the fantastic chance to take the Head Chef position at the newly opened Cafe Rococo, Leigh on Sea. After 5 years we were increasingly catering for events and weddings too and we took the step of creating Rococo Mobile, the catering and event division of the business. After 12 years at Café Rococo and Rococo Mobile we sold the business in 2005. 

Working as a chef can be very rewarding but it requires discipline, planning and the ability to work long, often unsociable hours. After selling the business it was time to move on and after thinking long and hard I decided that I would set up “FUUD” to continue the catering and event side of the business we had successfully created. I invested in a commercial kitchen, organised all the appropriate licenses and off we went. 

In 2009 I had the chance to take on the production kitchen we are in now, and with that, came the Pie side of the business. The kitchen was originally created and set up by Steve Jones creator of the Pipe of Port which is renowned for its famous pies. Steve gave me the opportunity to take the pie business on too and to see where we could take it; and so started the creating of pies and gourmet dishes for retail, restaurants, bars, cafes and events. Following the success of this we have now won many Great Taste and British Pie Awards. 

Today we work with clients of all sizes on corporate and private events, festivals, and venues, and have the ability and the infrastructure to cater and deliver exceptional event experiences to customers. We combine valued expertise in the mobile food catering industry, online ordering, and as a supplier to a variety of food outlets throughout Essex. We also provide a one stop shop for all your mobile and catering needs through delivery of our own brands and approved affiliates nationally .

My immediate plans for the pie side of the business are to continue building on our suite of awards as they illustrate our dedication to delivering consistent quality and service to our clientele. It also allows the staff to take pride in their work as our awards and accolades also indicate what a strong team we have. (See our Awards Page) 

On the event side, whatever your event we can take over all or part of the event to suit your needs. We can organise all aspects of your event including bar and staffing or just prepare and deliver your food. I am proud of what I have accomplished and am grateful to my family, friends, team, suppliers and clients which continue to make my efforts rewarding. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52