Hello Steemians! This is the beginning of my journey to rediscovering myself

Hello Steemians!

First time blogger here! Let me introduce myself, my name is Nicki and I am excited to join the world of blogging! The reason I decided to join Steemit and start blogging is to rediscover myself. I used to pride myself on being unique and different than anyone else, but the older I get I feel myself getting lost in the shuffle and conforming to this 9-5, Monday through Friday work day grind thing. This is not me, and this is not who I want to be. So, I am here today to break free from the mold that we have all tried to fit into or have been put into.
Rockefeller Center NYC Cropped.png
To begin my journey, I’ll start by defining myself.
To do this I asked myself one question… Exactly, who am I?
Who am I? I AM A…

Buffalo Girl
BUFFALO GIRL.png
I was born and raised in Buffalo, NY. You know that city that is always mentioned in movies and on TV shows but nobody ever really has been to? Recently, Buffalo has been on the rise and there are more things than ever before to do here. Yes—we get a lot of snow and it can be very very cold for more months than we would like. I actually cannot stand the cold, but all in all I love my hometown!

DIYer
DIYer.PNG
I love going to estate sales and finding new treasures! I have also been known to garbage pick—some of the best things I own are things I have pulled from the garbage! I truly believe one man’s trash is another WOMAN’s treasure! I am constantly coming up with new ideas and working on projects. Whether it is refurbishing an old piece of furniture, reupholstering, designing/sewing pillows or home décor projects, I never have a time where I don’t have at least a few projects.

New Plant Lover- Green Thumb?
Terrarium Making.png
This is a new hobby for me since I acquired this huge peace lily plant when I moved into what used to be my great grandparents’ home. The plant was crowded in the pot it was in, so I decided to tackle splitting and repotting it...well the plants barely had roots but I repotted it anyways splitting it into two pots. It looked great for the first few hours and I thought how easy is this!? The next morning I woke up to find the plants wilted and the leaves were starting to brown—needless to say I thought I killed this gorgeous plant!! Flash forward a year later and both of the plants are full and standing tall. Since then I fell in love with indoor plants. I now have over 20 plants in my house!

Hairstylist
HAIRSTYLIST.PNG
Back when I was in high school I was lucky enough to attend a program called BOCES to learn cosmetology. After graduating I continued my education to receive my 1000 credit hours required by NYS and took my written and practical to get my license. I was 18 for less than a month by the time I earned my full Cosmetology License. This is one of my proudest accomplishments. I have worked in several salons, now I do hair for fun. No— I cannot cut my own hair, but I do color it. I love doing hair and it will always be something I do.

Blogger
STEEM PIC.PNG
As previously mentioned I am a first time blogger! I have always thought about blogging but never took the plunge until now. I look forward to hearing more from fellow bloggers and meeting new people!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @poppiejanes! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

very nice introduction, welcome to steemit.

thank you!

your introduction article has been really perfect.
one again thanks for an excellent intro and enjoy steemit.

Welcome @poppiejanes! I’m looking forward to read your blogposts! I’m very interested about what you’re doing and especially the DIY part! Would like to see more of the DIY so I can learn too 😄!!

thank you! Yes I have many DIY projects I have previously done, as well as new ones I want to do! I will definitely be posting them!

Nice to meet you and welcome

thank you!

Congratulations @poppiejanes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97