Hello fellow Steemians

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

I'm Aurora, 28, writing from the Netherlands (well, not literally, now I'm in Portugal for a conference!)

IMG_20180603_160054.jpg

About me

I'm a biologist; Italian; passionate about politics, reading, traveling, swimming and most of all eating 🍝

IMG_20180607_222511.jpg

I did my BSc and MSc in Rome, the most wonderful and chaotic city in the world. But I felt like I didn't belong, and needed to explore; so I applied for internships everywhere in Europe. I ended up in the Netherlands and never really left!

IMG-20170416-WA0063.jpg

Why am I here?

I've always loved writing. Science is a passion, but not my only one! And for the future I'd like to explore the world of Science Communication, or SciComm. The motto is: science isn't finished until it's communicated!

201806011746669720683077410.jpg

Too often science is seen as something distant and obscure; and in order to make it digestible it is sometimes reported inaccurately (how many articles have you read on social media simply saying "found molecule that succesfully cures cancer?")
Results need to be shared in a simple, but not simplicistic way. If this was done properly we wouldn't face problems such anti-vaxxers or flat-earthers ;)

Want to see some nice travel pics, read about politics in Italy or know what working in a lab is really like??

Visit my blog , or follow me on Instagram :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, polinares! Best wishes for a great journey here on this platform :) All the best!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you cheneats! I'll make sure to get in some cool groups :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88