STEEM SECURITY AND HACKS PREVENTION; HOW I LOST MY STEEMIT ACCOUNT.

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)


{Image source}[https://goo.gl/images/zqzsLF]

I've lost much but i've learnt more. The lack of resourceful knowledge which i didn't have made me suffer a great deal. Who do i blame? Me for being careless or do i curse those who said nothing about this information.

STEEMIT is open source which makes the source code available to the public. This source code can be edited and cloned. Thus, phishing is introduced.

PHISHING, i'll say is common practice but a rare knowledge to the internet users.
Phishing is the cloning of a web page, so to acquire a user's personal details, which is mostly practiced by fraudsters for malicious purposes. I guess i didn't know all these till this time.
Some of my steemit friends must have noticed my abscence on the platform. As i have explained above, i did not fully loose my account to phishing attack on my blog but you should know that after loosing possession of my cell which is the reason for my inactivity, I forgot my masterkey.

Had i known, I would have prevented this inconvenience by storing my private information and login materials on a cloud storage or on an external disc. I will need to explain that a cloud storage is where you can access a whole loot of stored files from wherever and whenever. It's quite preferable and bulky in terms of compatibility as it requires some amount of data to access depending on what kind of file you have stored.

Otherwise, storing private details on an external drive is mostly convenient for most, but sometimes it is mildly patronized for not being portable for easy carrier and therefore discourages its usage. Which ever way, both methods at the same time can help.
PHISHING is the main emphasis here, it's the soft stone amongst others in any open source program. Whatever link redirects you out of the steemit world or require you to login using your private details, then you need to have a second and even third look on the page link.
You may see something similar to steemit webpage, say steemlt.com (notice that the letter "i" has been replaced with the letter "l") which looks similar and may go unnoticed. There you go!
I needed to make this frequent occurrence a known knowledge to every steemian, so that the practice of malicious activities are reduced on the internet. So then i've got this new account with which this post is being made and can now be sure of not loosing it.
Thank you!
I remain your sweet girl💗💗💗

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @olajumoke1. I hope you enjoy your stay here. This post has been upvoted by the steemjet community account.

On Steemjet, We teach you about Steem and Cryptocurrency in general and how it can be adopted Globally.




Join us

Community blog - @steemjet

Steemjet Discord channel- https://discord.gg/vdZe8JW

We hope to see you around. Keep Steeming!!!

Thank you so much @steemjet .continue the great work! Longlive steemjet.

Welcome back dear. You've been missed 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33