I love old paper money and new digital money, how about you?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself8 years ago

Introducing myself: I call myself notgeld because that's what I love most, I'm a collector and a dealer of it. If you haven't heard of it (and I know most people haven't): although Notgeld is kind of a catch-all term for any money issued on an emergency basis, it usually refers to very, shall we say, creative German paper money issued by towns, cities, companies, even private citizens, starting at the outbreak of WWI in 1914 and ending with the complete collapse of the currency at the end of the Weimar hyperinflation period in 1923. I made a video called What is Notgeld? if you want the full explanation with photos etc.

Of course I also love digital money, and I'm not the first person to say that there are a lot of parallels between Notgeld and cryptocurrency. In a way, crypto is a type of Notgeld, issued because of a lack of faith in fiat money, or really just a failure of fiat money to provide some features that the market has a demand for. I hope to write some articles that explore the connection between the two, and share a lot of beautiful pictures from my hobby that I am lucky enough to have made into my life's work.

I very much like the idea of steemit and I've been looking for a place to connect with people outside of Facebook etc., in fact I recently deleted my Facebook account because I just couldn't handle all the constant political fighting that's been going on. Haven't regretted it a bit. I like to live in my own little bubble, I guess, and this seems like a great place to talk to people who are as interested in money for its own sake as I am. I look forward to reading more from everyone, having some great conversations, and learning from everyone here.

Sort:  

Great post and very interesting thing that Notgeld. I am German and in my childhood I got some of that paper money. I liked it, specially the notes which were overprinted because of the rapid change of vallue. And I liked the BIG numers on it (compered with my pocket money.)
Have you ever heard about Specmilo- the Esperanto currency. It was a kind of universal remidy like the international language. Unfortunately it didn't work out. Bitcoin kicks in now globaly...
Thanks and take care.

I am also very interested in paper money. In fact its one of my favourite things to collect when on holidays. I try to collect low denomination notes from around the world. I have some very interesting specimens.
Liked and followed. I look forward to hearing more about Notgeld.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70