Introducing myself - Join me on my journey!

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Introducing myself to the Steemit community……I am here thanks to the encouragement of @lyndsaybowes   

 A bit about me…..I was born in upstate New York to Palestinian parents.  We lived in New York for the first seven years of my life.  My father’s work in developing countries gave my family the privilege of calling seven countries home.  

Now, I am living in my parents’ place of birth, in what is probably the most tumultuous part of the world.    For me, life here has been an adventure into a culture which was very familiar to me, yet still sometimes seems very foreign.

Here, I formed new interests, and discarded some of the old.  However, my love of books, and the magic held between their pages, has been with me constantly from a young age.  And that love, the love of the written word, led me to journalism.  It has enabled me to fulfill my curiosity, and my passion for learning and writing. 

I would like my Steemit blog to be free of politics, but seeing that Palestine has been at the forefront of the news for so many years, it is inevitable that politics will come into it.  

 I have collected my published articles in another blog. They are a reflection of what I have learned, and of the many fascinating people who welcomed me into their lives and graciously allowed me to tell their stories. I will post the link here when I have updated it.   If a subject that I have written about is relevant to what is going on now, I might post an old article or two here. 

My Steemit blog will be about my personal journey into my heritage, the beauty, the vibrancy, the pain, and the enduring strength of the Palestinian people – much of which is overlooked, with the political struggle taking precedence. Hopefully it will be fun, colorful and informative.  It will be a tale of Palestine – what was and what is.   I hope you will join me in my journey!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Land! Great to see you continuing to post more often now!
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Welcome to Steemit Noreen! I've seen some of your work through Lyndsay's passion and commitment to bring awareness to what is going on in Palestine. The genocide that is taking place there and in other places around the world need to be exposed for what they are ... genocide. Bravo to you for having the courage to not only report on it all, but to move there too. That takes a great deal of courage and I honour your commitment to doing that and more. I look forward to reading more of your work. Welcome to steemit!

Thank you so much for your warm welcome!!

Lyndsay has brought so many people to this platform,
And i thank her for that. I look forward to your posts Noreen. Stay safe.

Yes........Lyndsay is really good at bringing people together! Thank you for the welcome!!

Welcome Noreen! I am SO happy to see you here!! Even more I look forward to seeing the beauty of Palestine, and learn more about your life :) :) Thank you for sharing your Life with us!!

Lyndsay......It's because of you that I am here!! I'll do my best to show a side of life here that's not often seen!

Thanks for bringing inspiring people to our wonderful Steemit platform..

My absolute Pleasure, it's so nice to see more and more of my friends making their way over to this beautiful place <3

Well @noreensadik i say you a very warm welcome here on steemit.
@lyndsaybowes doing great work to bring the people on steemit, which is really appreciable. I came here as @lyndsay resteemed your blog.

So, i am really looking forward to interact with you. My Prayers and Best Wishes are with you and i believe you will do some wonders on steemit

Stay Blessed :) Happy New Year 2018

Thank you, and happy new year to you too!!

Welcome @noreensadik to Steemit. I know very little about Palestine other than from news media. I look forward to reading your tale of Palestine!

The media is often one-sided. Probably most people don't know much about this area except for what they read in the news. I hope I can paint a good picture for you and others!

Welcome to Steemit. I'm also here because of @lyndsaybowes and I'm so excited to unite with others around the world. Onward and upward. May all beings be free and peaceful.

Welcome to steemit, @noteensadik! My inspiration was @lyndsaybowes as well.😎

Haha -- Lyndsay has done good to bring so many people to the same site!

Welcome!! I'm new as well! Also, thanks to @lyndsaybowes ... This is a wonderful community and I look forward to your posts 💓

Thanks Taylor! I've seen your posts on FB, and I'm going to read them here.

Wonderful! I look forward to sharing!

I was in Palestine in March of 2017 for the opening of the Banksy Hotel (I'm a travel writer.) My last visit had been 20 years prior and I wondered immediately what kept me away for so long. I am looking forward to what you have to say.

How nice! I've been wanting to see the hotel. Hopefully one day soon I'll go to Bethlehem. I'm sure you noticed a lot of changes over the past 20 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53