Hello again!

in #introducemyself8 years ago (edited)

Hello again!

AGAIN? Yes, again....

At the moment it's a big bone of contention in our house.
I joined the wonderful, fairly new, community of Steemit on the July 20, 2016. At the time I was one of only 28000 users.


This is me

  • My name is still Naómi-Louise
  • I'm still from Pretoria, South Africa
  • I'm still married and a stay-at-home mom of two girls aged 6 and 2.


This is me then

Here’s why I have to start … Again… When I registered there was no Facebook authentication and no 52 character password awarded. You chose your own password. I got a very long and very involved speech from my husband not to ever forget my password.

Brute force hack

Hundreds of passwords were brute forced around the time I joined. My husband being one of them. Shortly after, there was a freeze on all new sign-ups while the problem was solved and upgrades were made.
Since I joined I stayed logged in and posted and voted often. I once logged in on my cell phone to vote, but found it too laborious to type my password in every time.

The bone of contention

Recently I went on holiday and knew I wouldn’t be posting to Steemit so I logged out. Returning from my holiday I tried to login, but the system keeps saying ‘Incorrect Password’. My husband gives me ‘the look’ and keeps using the words ‘forget your password’ and ‘lose your password’.

I didn’t do either!

No, I didn’t back-up my password (because it wasn’t a something I would forget or lose). Bearing in mind that before I had my kids, I was a JD Edwards EnterpriseOne systems and fixed assets accountant. I know what I was thinking when I chose my password and typed it in TWICE. For the past three weeks I’ve tried in vain to decipher what could possibly have gone wrong. It’s driving me bonkers! I don’t have a solution and I don’t know what caused this. It might be that some characters or numbers didn’t enter when I typed it in the first time (TWICE!) Who knows? I certainly don’t, but I’m still hopeful that somebody else in the Steemit community experienced the same problem and has some advice. There has to be a reason other than ‘lost/forgot your password’. I’m just not seeing it and certainly not ready to accept failure yet.

So here I am

I’m not new. I’m still just me. I still think in songs, I still occasionally like spending time on my soap box, I love my job as a full-time mom and wife (mostly in that order).

I’m starting again again because Steemit rocks and @jacor and I’m going to the Steemfest in November! Whoop-Whoop!!

Over the next few days I’ll repost all articles from my previous blog @naomi-louise. Those posts are who I am. I’m just that obstinate and want to have some sort of history in my new account so you’ll know it’s still me, myself and I.

From now on I’ll be @naomi.louise

Please follow me and help me rebuild what I’ve lost.

I like to Steemit, Steemit!! I like to Steemit, Steemit!!

Sort:  

That sucks! Followed you :)

Thank you @onetree. So glad to be back and thank you for the follow!

I can just imagine the "attitude" that you have to put up with. MY husband confiscated my laptop yesterday....but I still have my phone...and my tablet! :)
I am glad you are back! (You do look a bit older in the new photo though LOL!)

Thanks @serioustruth. It's my photographer!!! I've given up trying to explain a camera to him. He can do magic with a computer, but woe betide the camera.

OMG,
The Things Husbands Do
Welcome Back
@naomi.louise
I Am following You Now
I Look Forward To Your Posts
Feel Free To Check Out
My Blog And Follow Me
Steem On!

I checked out your blog @anns. Your recipies are wicked!

LOL!
Steem On!

Check Out The
Whitepaper @
Steem.io
And
Steemtools.com

OK, I know this is obvious, but have you tried a cap at the start; I often forget I use a cap at the start of some passwords, and it will drive me mad, because the word is right, just not the case.

Good luck!

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62209.21
ETH 2436.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66