How "unemployment" may actually be just what you need...

Hi dear Steemians, my name is Michael and this is my very first post. Conventionally, it should have started with an introductory post on who I am, where I'm from... the works. But I want to start with a post that could change your life. Because the ideas here changed mine. We would definitely get to know each other better with time (I promise) as my story is quite complex... more like an exciting rollercoaster with exhilarating "highs" and mind-numbing "lows". For now though, you really need to read this:

It is quite frustrating and traumatic being unemployed and, in many cases, having to depend on the benevolence of others for sustenance. Trust me, I know.

As a matter of fact, unemployment represents personal failure and shame to many. Furthermore, a research on the Lancet Psychiatry Journal reveals that unemployment alone is responsible for about 45,000 suicides a year, worldwide.

Having the required skills, enviable grades, a kickass resume and being an alumnus of one of the more prestigious schools around is never a guarantee – sometimes they just can’t seem to coordinate the proper footwork to kick open any door, even those you felt you would never need to tap.

So yes, life can be a bowl of tough lemons.

Truth is, you may never have suspected that the unfair position you find yourself in may actually be just what you need to release the genie within you.

Turning the "lemons" to "lemonade frappuccino"

I have always found the story of Jack Ma -- the billionaire owner of Alibaba Group -- very interesting.

Here was a man who applied to 30 different jobs and was shown the door each time. The police force rejected him, and he was the only applicant that KFC turned away when the company came to his city. Certainly that must have hurt; real bad.

However, it was at that ebb that his multi-billion entrepreneurial idea was born, and he ran fervently with the vision. The rest, they say, is history.

When backed into a corner, you’d be surprised at all the things you are capable of. All you may need is that hard shove onto a tight spot; that desperation.

My story is a bit similar. My financial statements bled red ink as I desperately fought for survival, chasing "opportunity" mirages everywhere.

One day, I sat down and subjected myself to some hardcore self-appraisal; a thorough re-evaluation of my inherent skills and capabilities and how I can use them to solve problems for others. For that is actually what business is all about - meeting the needs of others.

The outcome of that self-scrutiny is a chain of thriving entrepreneurial commitments. I wish I can add that I'm now making billions like Jack Ma... well, nothing is impossible if one believes and works hard; haha :)

So if you are unemployed and having a difficult time, below are five proven steps to reinventing yourself:

Be downright realistic

Neither crave nor expect pity - wearing your heavy heart on both sleeves will in no way ease your burden.

It is also unrealistic to hold on to the vague assertion that things will work out with time - Time may not be hitting that gym anytime soon. Most times, people just apply those words like cologne on their souls and enjoy the fleeting fragrance; but wishful thinking never got anyone anywhere.

Think of time as a fertile garden: what you sow is what you would reap. You don’t keep sowing oranges and expect to wear the process out so it allows you to reap a banana with time - it won’t. You would need to innovate. You would need prudent plans and decisive actions.

Look inward

All you need is always within you - if you look. My personal breakthrough began when I looked. An important point is that I always had all my potentials, yet wallowed in frustration and want for years till I looked.

What amazing potentials could you be holding within you? You need find out. Go somewhere quiet and take a deep, honest assessment of yourself: your strengths, your skills, your talents.

Reach into the recesses of your soul: exhume those buried interests and consider those skills you’d mostly ignored - Baking? Skiing? Drawing? Writing? Photography?

Next, write down your entrepreneurial ideas. The entrepreneurial idea that involves your strongest talents or strengths is the one to go for first; it doesn’t matter how weird or commonplace it seems. If you are skilled at it and you love it, then you are good to go.

Stay positive; believe in yourself

Many would try to discourage you. Many would tell you all about the competition you would face and how you won’t stand a chance. Their weather report for your efforts would always read “gloomy; overcast” and their only advice is to accept defeat and quit before you even start.

Do not listen to such people; do not even hang out with them. Study what you want to do and actively explore ways to stand out.

You shall most probably meet several failures but that should never discourage you. Most who have ever achieved anything worthy of note experienced rejection some point, but simply refused to give up.

So turn stumbling blocks to stepping stones, and as you practice and learn, your expertise, confidence and income shall grow.

Be disciplined

This is usually an overlooked step. You need to have it in you to stick to practices that won’t sabotage your efforts.

Never procrastinate key actions or decisions. For example, do not spend a month reading how to shoot a good picture: go out there, buy yourself a camera and shoot!

Also, have a strong work ethic and be committed to self-development. Whatever you do, never forget that success can neither be built nor sustained without self-discipline.

Network

Do not develop in isolation. Put yourself out there - that is the only way to receive the feedback and constructive criticism that would enable you improve.

I wouldn’t have attained the millage I currently enjoy in my career and entrepreneurial pursuits if I had neglected this step. So network, and practice what you learn. Stand on bigger shoulders to see those tips that only experience can reveal and fine-tune your strategy or approach accordingly.

You’d be amazed at the amount of time you would save yourself by learning from those who have been there before you.

Please follow, and share this post if you found it helpful. I'll soon be back ( Yes, I'm here to stay ;D ) with another post on a malevolent demon we all fight daily and how I subdued mine. I bet you'll never guess what it is but you may very well be struggling with it even this very moment

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit and great first post. I believe this might just be useful to some people.

I will share and follow.

Thanks! means a lot, really

Congratulations @michaelgoodfella! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Welcome to Steemit Michael!

Thanks daveks. I'm happy to be part of this community. I see great future here.

Welcome to steem :)

Welcome Michael. Very inspirational post. It made me think that possibly the best way to build up an account on steemit is to actually be on unemployment.

Thank you for replying @wakeupsheeps .

When many find it difficult to get a job, they feel bad about themselves. Like they are lesser humans. It shouldn't be so.

There are a lot of factors that could be responsible, and it could be that the universe is actually pushing to being your own boss (I'm sorry but Jack Ma comes to mind again).

We are all talented in something, we just need to look inward. I am not saying that employment isn't good or those employed are missing out (a post on this soon), but those out of jobs or inbetween jobs they loathe should know that they have the capacity to turn their world around for good.

I know this is a delicate topic but I just had to be honest.

No need to be delicate. Look forward to your future posts.

Nice to have you on board! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93