JustExist Music: Introductory Post

Just wanted to add a quick little note for the Steemit community before I post my about me page. First of all, this community and platform are very new to me, so hopefully I’m not screwing things up too badly. What I really wanted to say, though, was that I’m very excited to be here. As I mention in my post, I’m legally blind and can’t drive. I love writing and I love music and cryptocurrency is a newer passion of mine that I’m still doing my best to dive into. I have goal over the next year or two to get to where I can support myself doing writing and other things I enjoy and this is sort of one of my first steps. A place where I can mix all three things and be rewarded for it, be it large or small, is awesome and I really hope to have a long relationship with you guys. Please feel free to leave any tips or comments here, be it for the post or the platform itself. Thanks for reading and I hope you guys enjoy!

Well, hello everyone! My name’s Kevin and this is JustExist Music. It’s my first foray into the world of serious content creation, so hopefully it’s not a total disaster. I’m currently twenty-four and was born and raised in Panama City, Florida. I’m legally blind (not completely without sight, otherwise it would be hard to do any of this), and I think that’s one reason I always connected to music so much.

As a kid, I played a small amount of sports but always had trouble seeing the ball, keeping track of people and the things that make sports playable for people, so it never stuck with me. I played outside, played video games and plenty of the other normal boy things but as soon as I was really old enough to understand it, music is what really drove me and it’s continued to do so ever since I was about twelve years old.

Bands like Underoath, From Autumn to Ashes, The Used, Story of the Year and a ton of others are what got me going and things just grew from there. I started going to local shows when I was a young teenager, meeting other people who were into the same crazy music that I was. Soon I was into the metalcore wave; A Day to Remember, Chiodos, I Set My Friends on Fire and a bunch more that probably aren’t worth listing. I was in a really shitty band around that time, too. Only like one or two of us knew what we were doing and I certainly wasn’t one of them.

I was never really one of those guys who abandoned their old music tastes, though, at least not for the most part. Sometimes I did realize stuff I used to like was bad but that was rare. Even when I was going through the metalcore phase, I still loved the old emo and post-hardcore bands and I started getting into some of the classics that I missed like Say Anything, Brand New, Taking Back Sunday and other such acts. That was high school and those few years really shaped what my music tastes are today.

Time went on, I got older and got more into other types of music and grew to appreciate some of the stuff I’d listened to earlier more and finally started getting to go to real shows more than once every two years. I think, to date, I’ve seen something like 48 bands live, not including local bands or bands I’ve seen multiple times. Going to shows has always been my favorite thing to do. I know that’s nothing compared to some people but, where I live, you almost always have to travel 300 miles to see any big tours and, being legally blind, I can’t drive myself so I have to coordinate with other people for two-day trips and it’s not always easy.

When I was in high school, I discovered my other passion in life; writing. I was god-awful then, starting out with really poorly-written basically fanfiction and finally moved on to creating my own characters and stories and plots. They were still bad but at least they were mine. Over the years, I got better and better at it and got to the point where I actually thought I was fairly good at it. I ended up switching my major in college to writing and English and finally finished up with my Bachelor’s this Spring.

While thinking about what I wanted to do with my life after graduating, I remembered an idea I’d had for a years or two. I always had an eclectic memory when it came to music; the stories, the members, the bands, the albums, everything, and I wanted to be able to share that with people and meet other people who enjoyed the music I did as much as I enjoyed it. So, here I am, finally making myself sit down and commit to this and really give it a go and hoping that someone finds some enjoyment out of it. If I help one person discover a few new bands or meet someone I can discuss the thing we all love together, I’ll be pretty stoked and it’ll all be worth it.

Thanks for reading,
~Kevin

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @justexistmusic! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem @justexistmusic I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit community, nice to meet you.
I am very happy to share with you, I invite you to visit my post https://steemit.com/news/@chantha/a-7-year-old-young-math-genius-can-solve-mathematics-in-grade-12.
Thank you, hopefully in the future we can share in this best community and can support it. I can not wait for your best postings. See you ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51