Introducing me, myself and my small secret...

Hi Steemians!

Don’t know exactly how to start. My name is João and I’m a 31 years old portuguese guy. I like traveling, sports and food. I have a terrible secret to tell you: I still live with my parents. There, I said it!

Me at Balinghai beach, Philippines

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve already lived by myself, I even lived for a short period of time in Shanghai, China. I’ve been working in Lisbon (Portugal) as a dentist for 7 years now and this is not a problem with money. Let me try to explain...

After living by myself for a few years I decided to move to another apartment. I end up temporarily moving back to my parent’s home. This was suppose to be for 2 or 3 months, just til I get a new apartment to live but out of nothing... BOOM! Real estate crisis all over Europe! Not the one that nobody has money to buy a house, but this new crisis where every single apartment in an european capital is worth thousands more than what it should.

Me and my friends with Lisbon as a background

A 15 m2 apartment to rent for 700€ a month, another one smaller than the corridor from my parent’s home to buy for 325 thousand euros! It’s not that I don’t have the money to afford it, I can’t complaint. My sallary is above average and I have a perfectly stable job. The only problem is that I am not a fool. I could be one, just don’t want to.

Before getting here I’ve tried everything. I’ve sold mysfelf better than any job interview that I’ve been too, I’ve written letters of intent better than my love letters for my first girlfriends. I’ve paid lunches to “future landlords” in a shameless atempt to lower the rent. I’ve even ask my parents to kindly leave, “move on with your life, your kids are raised, we’ll take care of the apartment for you”.

Me, my brother and my parents at my brother's 26 birthday

I’ve searched through the streets of Lisbon for an apartment just following the lead of a picture on an advertisement, so I could get the direct contact of a landlord and avoid the real estate fees. I’ve done it all!

Capture from Airbnb website, Lisbon area


I’ve done it all but I guess few believe me. I just wanted to get this out of the way. Maybe I’m not alone in this fight, maybe some will stop renting and buying at this ridiculous prices. What do I have to lose by writing to you? Time? I’ve got plenty of it. I don’t do my laundry, there’s always food in the refrigerator and most the time I don’t make my bed. Housekeeper you say? No. I’m 31 and I still live with my parents!




Thanks for reading @jpfmartins looking forward to be a part of the steemit community!


Sort:  

Nice to see you here. I am new, as of today myself. I will follow you, to see how your life unfolds.

_Rob

Thank you! I'm following you too.

I appreciate that! (No shame in living at home) I am sure your parents love having you!

Actually they don't want me to leave. I'm not ashamed, I'm living there because I want to. No way I'm paying this huge amounts for an overvalued place.

Welcome

Welcome to Steem @jpfmartins I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Don't worry. I'm also 31 and live with my parents. Or perhaps, they live with me. Eh, it's just semantics.

The inflation is unbelievable, here in the US the prices double as well. You are in the right place, get some cryptos and double or triple your money so you can buy a house or apartment in the next couple of years.

Really hard to tell if this is a new bubble or not. But prices don't seem to go down any time sooner...

@jpfmartins - - Welcome to the Steem community. Amazing post and beautiful pictures. Looking forward to more posts from you.

Stay connected!

For more details on the contest click here!

Welcome to the community Joao! Steemit is a wonderfully supportive and encouraging community, you will enjoy it here :) I know what it's like to be the new kid, so I am here to tell you I will sit with you at lunch ;) I post a lot of "Minnow" support and tips for newbies, so please feel free to check out my older posts, and if you have any questions please ask :)

Great to have you join! I look forward to reading your posts :)

Welcome to steemit

welcome Jpfmartins ! I hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

What other ways do you contribute?

Welcome to steem it! Thanks for being honest with us.

I hope you enjoy your time here.

I have more fights going on! I will keep you updated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47