Hello Everyone! I am (half) a physicist. 大家好,我是(半個)物理人steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody on Steemit! I am John from Hong Kong. I did Physics and Mathematics at University and have recently graduated. That's one of the two reasons I said I am only half a physicist. The other reason was because I know far too little about Physics to call myself a physicist: Physics is a very deep and broad subject that asks the most profound questions about our Universe. Nowadays, physicists have to spend years just to be good at a very narrow topic. I am certainly not as professional as them! But I do have a geniune passion to learn about our beautiful Universe.

Steemit上的大家好!我是個剛剛從大學畢業的香港人。大學時我修讀數學和物理,所以嚴格來說我只是半個物理人。我也不敢說自己是個物理學家,只因物理實在太博大精深了。今時今日,物理學家光是要在物理裏面的一個細小的範籌成為專家,已經要花上以十年為單位的時間了。我實在不敢以物理學家來稱呼自己。可是我可以不臉紅的說自己是一個物理人:我真的對理解這個宇宙的奧秘非常的有熱情。


According to the arXiv, apparently these are the topics there are in Physics:
根據arXiv的分類,好像物理還有挺不少分支的,支支都不簡單的啊:


Let me tell you why I joined the Steemit community. First of all, I really enjoyed reading some of the articles on Steemit when I was introduced to it by a good friend. It seems everyone is very friendly here as well! The vast number of articles on Steemit covered many topics, but as half a physicist I immediately noticed one thing: where are the posts related to Physics? That was what motivated me to create an account: I want to try to bring this interesting subject to more interested people!

等我講一下為什麼我加入了Steemit吧。當我的好朋友介紹Steemit給我,我發覺在Steemit上有很多很有意思的文章,這裹的人也給我非常友善的感覺。可是作為半個物理人,我馬上發覺一件事:跟物理有關的熱門文章似乎有點少?我決定申請一個帳戶,希望可以在這裹把這個(至少我覺得)很有意思的科學帶給大家。


What kind of Physics will I be talking about then? Perhaps you can give me some ideas! (Then I will try my best...) Actually what comes to your mind when you think of Physics?

物理學裏有那麼多的分支,那我會想寫什麼樣的物理呢?或許你可以給我一點靈感?(然後我試試去寫吧。。哈哈)。話說物理讓你聯想到什麼東西呢?


Newton hit by a falling apple?

無辜的牛頓?

(from John the Math Guy at http://johnthemathguy.blogspot.hk/2012/10/the-apple-doesnt-fall-far-from-newton.html)


Einstein's ridiculous hair?

愛因斯坦的髮型?

(from https://phys.org/news/2015-10-years-einstein-theory.html)


Some science on a blackboard?

黑板上的方程式?

(from https://www.timeshighereducation.com/student/subjects/what-can-you-do-physics-degree but by the way, half of what's on that blackboard is not Physics. 不過其實這塊黑板上有一半不是物理。。。)


I am sure many of you thought of this!

應該有不少人聯想到這道有名的方程吧!


(from pexel, or Einstein himself!)


We are getting close to the kind of Physics that I did at uni. What I did was actually more like
我們離我在大家讀的物理愈來愈近了。其實我在大學讀的比較像下圖


(from http://einstein-schrodinger.com/Standard_Model.pdf)


Please don't be scared! As Einstein said (or is credited for saying):

"If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself."

I am not Einstein (He's my favourite physicist, by the way), but I am guessing you aren't six years old either :) Maybe it will work out. Who knows. Maybe next time!

請不要立馬走人!聽說愛因斯坦說過這樣的一句話:

"如果你不能跟一個六歲的小孩子講明白,你自己也沒有很懂。"

我不是愛因斯坦(他是我偶像!),但幸好你也不止六歲 :) 或許能行? 或者下次吧!


If you have read all the way down to here, thank you very much! I look forward to hearing from you all. Nice to meet you again everybody!

如果你有耐性看到這裏,我真的很感謝你們!希望你們能留個言,大家交個朋友。多多指教!

Sort:  

這是我的朋友,請大家多多支持他,現在社區裡好像比較少有關科學方面的帖子,希望能為Steemit帶來更多元化的文章。

Thanks htliao my friend :)

呼叫 @coinbitgold 你們的新人到了.... :)

欢迎欢迎。多讲讲物理。多讲讲量子。其实有些问题连爱因斯坦也搞不清。昨天我刚去看了他的故居
https://steemit.com/cn/@nationalpark/princeton-university-art-museum

@nationalpark 能去他的故居太棒了!我將來也一定要去一趟 :) 其實很多問題愛因斯坦也搞不清。。他是一個很有自己的想法的物理學家。

期待這樣的科普內容!

@ygern 多謝!如果你對什麼特別有興趣的,歡迎提出,大家可以討論一下 :)

Hello and welcome fellow physicist.

Hello, add oil with your science post, i have created a tag for #cn-science and cn-stem in the past, but apparently got removed.

Love to see more science post here!!
Upvoted and followed

@carobetc Thanks for the encouragement! I will try to write in both languages but that has proved to take quite a bit of time haha. I will see how it goes. Thanks for upvoting and following, if there are particular areas of physics you find interesting feel free to bring it up! I might be able to write something about it :)

Hello and welcome to steemit Mr. Physicist. I wish you lots and lots of success on this amazing platform :)

nice post! I recently made a post to get people to like maths again, it looks like you are the ideal person to start getting people working on their math abillities 😄

Thanks @oudekaas! Indeed if one wishes to understand the physics properly then the maths is essential!

高中时候物理老师神采飞扬地讲物理学家的故事,讲到最后只剩五分钟,马上迅速地把课讲完了!

@sylvia1997 哈哈,講物理學家的故事也不錯啊!至少他不是在講自己的故事 :P

对的,他讲得非常有趣! 讲麦克斯韦,还讲尼采。那些物理定理我不一定都记得,故事还在我脑海里

@sylvia1997 一直覺得物理學家的故事比課本有趣多了哈哈。可能有空我也可以寫一下一些物理學家的故事 :)

欢迎欢迎,我会捧场的

Welcome to Steemit Mr. Physicist :D Looking forward to some great posts from you!

@firepower Thank you! I hope you will enjoy them too!

Hii john nice to read about you.i am surendra from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me.Best of luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66