Hello, Steemit!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Folk of Steemit!

My name is John Alex, and I'm an Anarchist, a Musician, and Programmer from West Michigan. I joined Steemit in hopes of finding a platform for my music, and a place to put my software skills to use. So far, I've been scoping out Utopian.io, DTube, and some of the other services on the STEEM blockchain, and I think they're pretty fascinating!

The Musician:
I play guitar, bass, piano, and a few other instruments. I mostly play a sort of folk/punk indie-rock, but I'm always down to jam: rap, deathcore, bluegrass, country. Between playing shows with The Gift of Hera (Local), I the Oracle (Huntington), Kickbox (Chicago), and Cold Shoulder (Toronto), I'm proud to say I've been able to be part of a growing DIY scene, and to rock out often enough to keep fans happy, despite the local municipalities trying to keep us down. If you're interested in checking out my music, I'll drop links at the end of the post.

The Programmer:
When it comes to programming, I started really getting into software with DBasic, but I've been getting into C, Python, and a few other cross-platform languages. I absolutely adore Open-Source Software, though, and studying it over the last few years has really allowed me to excel, despite having no professional or formal education (in terms of computer science). I mostly build utility applications, but I've recently been getting into Internet Software, OS Software, Self-Replicating Programs, Bots, and UI frontend applications. I'm absolutely happy to help with any projects I'm able to, so if you're reading this and have an idea you'd like to see come alive, I'll at the very least point you in the right direction.

On Steemit, I plan on making regular posts about the following things:

  • Music Updates: Shows, Merchandise, New Recordings, ...
  • Economics/Ethics/Anti-Political Chats
  • Programming Showcases and Try-It-Yourself Stuff
  • Do-It-Yourself Videos and Tutorials (Music & Software)

If you have any thoughts or suggestions for other content I should do, I am more than happy to see what I can do! I'm looking forward to hearing from you all <3

~ Your Michigander Friend

Social Media Links:

Sort:  

Welcome to the Jungle!!!!

I wish I could give you more on the upvote, but I went crazy lately and my vote power is all the way down to 50% :(

Glad to have you here!

Welcome John. I look forward to hearing about your programming endeavors on the Steem Blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61659.88
ETH 2579.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55