A shy hello: life is a strange thing (my introduction)

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

I must admit, I've been a part of Steemit for a month now, but never properly said hello since I never felt the need to be in the open. I guess quite an enigma I am for the other social platforms like Facebook, Twitter, etc.. even for the most people around me. Well, I guess nothing happens in life without a reason.

Well, finally, my name is Greta - a small town girl who now spends a very little time in her own country.
My life as an adult began abroad. To be more precise - the United Kingdom. I went there without knowing anyone or even being fluent in English to do my degree. I was looking for a challenge I guess, something to make me move away from my comfort zone... Got way more than I bargained for... I found an entirely new world! Fortunate I was to find many wonderful people from all around the globe and a life experience that can't be compared to anything else.

n546347988_911581_5413.jpg
England, the perfect mix between old and new

After the university graduation, life led me to the heart of European Union - Brussels, where I worked for few years and.... found the person who turned my already strange life upside-down - my second half that I never thought that I had - my husband.

DSdsCN86s38.jpg
The iconic "Atomium" in Brussels

However, life is strange and unpredictable, so my journey did not end there. Seems that it was not meant for me to settle down... He is a part of the diplomatic services - a person accredited to work and represent his country abroad. That means that few years we spend in our home country and few years somewhere else... rinse and repeat and that is the way of life.
For some it sounds sad, since every few years we are on the move, but for some, it seems like a unique opportunity since you get to live in different countries for quite some time and experience what it can offer on the first hand.
I do belong to the second group of people. As more I look around as more I realize that I do love the world the way it is. I love to discover, to see how each country and its people are unique and different: culture, customs, traditions way of lives, food and even some patterns of behavior. This is amazing! I feel blessed to have an opportunity to watch everything up close and to be welcomed to be a part of it even for a short period of time.

Right now, we are residing in France. It's been two wonderful years here and two more to go. It is a magnificent place to be, truly, with so many things to offer from indescribable sceneries to divine food and Paris, despite how lovely it is - definitely not the only place worth to see. :)

2018d010h3_191649.jpg
A brain teaser, guess which region we are at ^.^

So, this is me and my ongoing story that I will be happy to share with you if you'll be interested in...
IMG-20120721-WA0005.jpg

Much love to you all
Greta

Sort:  

I really like that first photo of London - love the chair as the focal point even with the crazy architecture - somehow that really ties the whole picture together. This is a nice formal introduction and we are lucky to have you here Steem-ing :)

My sister works for the US foreign service as an office manager for US Embassies around the world - my wife is considering applying for a similar career path so maybe soon our family will be globe trekkers every few years in similar fashion to you and your sweetums.

Much love - Carl

Thank you for your kind words once again :) You really do have some kind of reassuring aura around you, don't you?

Actually the picture was taken in Birmingham. You can see the corner of "Bullring" shopping mall and St. Martin church just nearby. I really loved the way modern and old buildings were so close but instead of creating a contrast they somehow complemented each other really well.
Just in front were my favorite Japanese cafe is. You could just sit there, sip green tea late and enjoy the view. Such a good memories...

And I am really surprised but glad to find another Steemian who knows about this kind of career choice on the first hand. Best luck to your other half! It is sometimes difficult but definitely really interesting path.

Hi Greta! Are you from Bulgaria?

I'm Steemit newbie, 2 days old. I just realized I want to find how many people from my country are already here (:

Hello and welcome! Really glad to see more and more people joining Steemit and that I am not the only newbie. Sorry I am not from Bulgaria, but if you'd like a new friends are always welcome :)

Well come.

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87