Will Steemit have bright future like facebook?

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Hi All,

My name is Stas, I'm from Tel-Aviv and this is my first post.

As a matter of fact I did not planned at all to write any blog especially in English (my native is Russian). I was just looking for crypto with good potential to invest some of my money and among other cryptos found steem. So I searched to get some info about it and found steemit. The idea was quite interesting and I spent about a week to learn how it works and what other people write about it. Somehow I found this post of @hisnameisolllie which was written a year ago and could not stop myself from writing comment on that post. So below is my answer to that post and my opinion about stеem/steemit.

As I told, now the price of steem is again 1 USD  and now I'm asking same questions as people asked one year ago: is there is a bright future for steem and steemit? I mean future that more or less like facebook. 

Actually I was very excited about steem few weeks ago when I discovered it. However, after I got more involved in how steemit works and wrote few posts in its "Russian brother" Golos.io I become quite less excited. When I say "less excited" I'm not talking about the technology of decentralized social platform which is no doubt amazing but about how steemit is simple and attractive for new users. Well IMHO meanwhile it is definitely not. 

BTW, on picture is me in Santorini and it emphasize how it is to move something that does not moved by itself 

We all agree that if many new users will decide to join steemit the price of steem will jump to hundreds of dollars. However for achieving this the platform should be attractive to those new users. So forget for a second that you already inside and take a look at the steemit platform as a new user. I would even say as a facebook user that heard about steemit and checking what it is. I would say that steemit is COMPLICATED for understanding and compering to FB has many disadvantages. Again I mean for simple user. 

Maybe for you guys it will be surprise but simple users don't f...g care about block chain. My mom has facebook but she does not have any idea how it works, on which technology it is implemented, and who is Zuckerberg. She is just user and facebook is simple for her. Now imagine that my mom discovers that there is a new social network in internet called steemit. So she comming to this website maybe read few articles and then trying to create account. In that particular moment I guarantee 100% that she will close this site after 5 minutes. Why? Since it is COMPLICATED and not common sense.

I'm myself telecom/radio engineer and I spent a day or two to understand about all those tags, keys, SP, SD and all other stuff and even now I don't fully understand how it works in details. So what you expect from non-computer oriented simple FB user?     

  1. long keys that you must save somewhere
  2. many different keys for different purposes. Posting, Active, Owner, Memo
  3. no instant messages
  4. non-recoverable password
  5. no profile pictures (except the one small)
  6. can't delete post
  7. adding pictures and videos is via external links
  8. finally poor interface

Those are just very basic things I see but there are many more. 

Most of us have job and salary and we usually earn much more than we can get for here for posts. Means money is not the main reason people will spend their time here.  For few dollars steemit will not "buy" simple people to spend their time in it. The keyword is time

So you'll ask why FB catch so many people even without paying them money? Well, psychologically people are curious to see what happens with their neighbors or friends. You can dislike it but this is fact and there is nothing to do with it. This is a way our brain works. FB gives an illusion that you see what happens with others. This is the reason why almost whole world using it. Now give me one reason why people will move from FB to Steemit? It is more complicated for understanding and I can't see pictures of my college girls. You all know FB way to make it interesting and interactive i.e. tagging, notifications and simplicity. 

Personally I really want that steemit will be successful and spread over the world but for this it should be somehow more attractive for new users. Better interface, more features, more common sense. Only saying that it is sitting on block chain technology does not work for most of the people. They don't give a sheet about how it is implemented.

So I found Steemit two weeks ago however the platform exist about a year. Can anyone tell me if during this passed year Steemit developers improved any major things related to interface. I'm asking that because if they did not and if they do not intend to make it more common sense then there is no way that it will catch in the world. Maybe it will be another small blogging platform but for sure not Facebook.

PS. I feel that I must apologize for quite demotivating post )) My defense is that I wrote it in order to make steemit community to look around and to do real estimations. And also for developers in order to make steemit look better and more attractive.

PPS.  
I have Russian language blog in Golos.io so you can follow me there at https://golos.io/@gluk73  and I'm mostly writing about travelling in India, Africa and other places) 



Sort:  

Nice to meet you, @gluk73! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Oh Thanks! Just saw it and was wondering who is so kind ;)

Loved the post. Looking forward to more content! Hope you have a good time here.

Thanks. I see you are from India. I worked a lot in Mumbai and I love the place. So next post will be probably photos from there ;)

Congratulations @gluk73! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gluk73! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @gluk73! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65