Who is food flaneur? My attempt on a not-so-lame intro (finally)

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

noodleface1.jpg

Hi guys, I’m Reena, just your average….hmm….well actually, if I’m being honest I’m not exactly sure how to do a basic introduction of myself without sounding too narcissistic, too lame, too cheesy, too waffly, too vague, too indifferent, too self-involved, or just not confident enough, not informative enough, not specific enough, not concise enough, and whatever else a basic introduction to one’s self may appear to be.

2018 Nodle (1 of 1).jpg

But what I will say is that I’m an ex-Londoner who worked as a dietitian there and am now living in China, making a living teaching biochemistry and clinical nutrition at a not-so-famous university.

On the side, I’m a wannabe chef using a) ingredients that I’m comfortable and cosy with that I would ordinarily find back in England (which is a rareity) in addition to b) ingredients I have never seen, have no idea what they’re called even with the help of a translation app and Chinese friends and therefore just wait to see what happens when I’ve messed around with them. My kitchen is more of an experimental lab and sometimes the stuff tastes good, other times, it’s rather questionable (AKA kinda shit), but I guess that’s why I call it ‘experimenting’- it let’s me get away with the bad cooking!

I recently started blogging after being introduced to Steemit through a wonderfully flamboyant German ‘pleasure boy’ temporarily working in China as a barista. He told me about the Steemit Iron Chef contest hosted by @progressivechef and said it would be right up my alley and so began my days as a not-so-frequent blogger. I also have my own personal blog that I developed many a month ago…it still contains no content- I should really sort that out!

Anyhoo, as a keen cook and a moderately okay writer, I’ve been blogging about food since September last year. Admittedly the posts are uploaded in rather a haphazard, non-consecutive manner, but this is due to change now that I’m on a long summer holiday (perks of working in an educational institute). I’m not really sure about my USP, or whether I even have one, but I do make the effort to combine food with various aspects of my life (art, films, sex etc) rather than simply the recipes and corresponding photos.

I hope that with my experiences in working as a healthcare professional, a university lecturer, studying A LOT (masters in public health, major in dietetics, bachelors degree in pharmaceutical science, diploma in naturopathic nutrition…most likely continued to study to avoid adult-in-the-real-world responsibilities), living in a completely different continent to home, cooking, food critiquing, writing and eating a shit load of food, I have been shaped into a person that has some worthy advice to give to those who hope to venture in similar fields.

I’m still referred to as a dinosaur by those who know me, given my lack of knowledge and competence with anything computer-related so in that sense I’m a bit useless, but the latter as above I’m pretty okay with. But I guess, you can let me know your own opinion should we have the opportunity to cross paths. I also intend on posting a bit more frequently just to demonstrate my commitment to the bloggers or viewers out there, as well as resteeming and promoting cool content. I’m easy going and open to doing what I can to help others out there as best I can when time permits. Hopefully, that’s good enough.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @foodflaneur!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2819 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

thanks for sharing your interesting story

Awesome that you made your introductory post and welcome to the promo-mentors :)

We are looking forward to working with you and helping you and other people in getting attention.

I look forward to your next entries )

Thank you so much @maverickinvictus. Really happy to be introduced to promo-mentors :-)

Reena, you are beautiful, love the noodles, and I was living in Vietnam, but have not been to China yet, and I have ancestors from the UK and I can be a dinosaur when it comes to computer code. I know some web design. Also a dinosaur when it comes to math. Cooking is a beautiful thing.

Thank you @joeyarnoldvn- you should defo visit China at some point! Cooking is a beautiful thing but it can also be ugly sometimes!

Yeah, cooking is a process of creating something new, which is a work in progress art project, and it can be ugly in that journey.... but it is totally worth it, no pain, no gain. How are you?

Welcome to Steemit World.....

Welcome to Steemit foodflaneur we look forward to seeing your food blogs

Hi Reena! Awesome introduction post. :) Always nice to meet a fellow foodie, someone who enjoys creating edible masterpieces like me. :)

You are absolutely welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72