Hello! My name is Eduardo Bonsi and I was invited by a friend to join Steemit!

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

I started to welcome people here even before doing my first introduction! You can expend hours reading introductions on Steemit. It is fun! This is a summary of a part of me! The pictures I am putting here are only so you can breathe throughout the text.

[This drawing was made by my friend and artist Renato Emilio Sossi in 1982 when we were working for an advertising agency in São Paulo, Brazil]

Hello everyone! My name is Eduardo Bonsi and I was invited by a friend to join Steemit! I should say a great friend. We collaborate in many works. He likes to write and I like to interpret his writings into forms, photography, film and design. I started design professionally when I was 16 Years old. I am an American/Brazilian! I was born in Brazil and moved to the States in the 80's. My background in design started way back in Brasil! At that time we did not have computers available for design. Many things were done manually. The only computer company that I remembered that time was IBM and they used to display only text.


[Bay Bridge, San Francisco, California]

Back them in Brazil, I work for advertising agencies and most of my knowledge of design was developed from there. I was involved doing what we used to call, "layout phase" and "art final phase", translating the last one, is "final work". A layout was a mockup creation then crafted into a design for a client presentation and approval. The final work was the production of the client's approved layout. Since I was involved in both processes, later, I become an Art Director. Being an Art Director was not that easy! I was responsible for creating, producing and directing marketing ideas that we used to call advertising campaigns. Hey, we still call all that to this day.


[Alcatraz Island, on foreground, warship SS Jeremiah O'Brien, Pier 45, San Francisco, California]

The advertising campaigns were tailored according to the client's product or services budget. Some big budget allows us to create advertising campaigns for radio, newspapers, magazines outdoors and TV. At that time was no school for advertising. The school was our work! I was working and going to school. After finishing high school, I went to the College of Administration and Marketing.


[Cable Car at Powell and Sacramento Street, San Francisco, California]

I had lots of fun that time. I was a little premature for my time. I had my own brand new car bought with my own money when I was 17 to 18 Years old. Most of my friends was still studying while I was there playing the big adult guy. So, I developed that sense of responsibility and "independence" early than my group of friends. From College, I went to University of Communications. It was that time that professors started to develop classes for advertising. Most of the classes that I was learning in theory, I was doing in real time. Believe me, I did not try to play smart or appear that I knew all. I kept a low profile and had fun learning a lot of stuff.


[Coit Tower, San Francisco, California]

I had great teachers and many things we did in the lab, I still use today. I always had fun exchanging knowledge and information with many people I met. When I was working in an advertising agency doing Oral-B commercials, I met a great friend and artist, Renato Emilio Sossi. We hit off very well because Renato and I had lots of things in common. Renato was already a big fine artist at that time and by hanging with him I discovered all this world of art that was more genuine than the recycle fast paste world of advertising.


[Columbus Ave., North Beach, San Francisco, California]

We went out to paint nature many times and by looking his craft I develop myself as a fine artist. That time I felt that painting art really developed a part of me. I was expressing something that was more real, personal. Renato had a vast library of art books and he was always passing me a book to read. By read art book, I learn art history and the masters of fine art! I personally identify more with the impressionist movement but I like most everything from academic to abstract. I learned to appreciate Paul Cezanne, Monet, Renoir, Pissarro, Degas, Sisley, Van Gogh, Rembrandt, Kandinsky and many others. What a fun time that was. We were dreaming and creating art!


[The San Francisco Art Institute on Chestnut and Jones Street, San Francisco, California]

It was this time that I had an unique opportunity to meet a group of people with different ideas of living in community developing one's spirituality and their sense of humanity. These things really made a difference in my life and opened my spirit to the possibility of seen people getting together to create a new world where they can live together and share their lives. It was that time that I moved to the United States. When I got here in the States, Apple was just forming in a garage and was releasing their line of computers. I had this prediction that computers would take design and typesetting to a new level. I had my first Mac II in 1997 and following this path, I become an IT/Developer "techie" specialized on Macs.


[Christmas manger shoot for the Yearly Christmas Show of Alexandra Lee Cefalo]

Living in the United States since the 80's, I strongly felt that after 1999, many have reached beyond reason and the sense of spiritual bond and respect for human life, the planet and animals. I got to the conclusion that we had this need to go back to the principles that once formed the base of our health minds and relationships.


[Stockton Tunnel, Union Square exit, San Francisco, California]

Man cannot continue to abuse their power and destroying the environment and others. Lately, I have teamed up with Francisco Sand and we are helping each other in several social, political and environmental projects. If you are also interested in making a difference, shaping the structure of our society, I hope we can meet and exchange ideas.


[Rainbow over North Bay, San Francisco, California]

My interests are with open source alternatives to social networks, social activism, and privacy. I strong come to the conclusion that social networks cannot be for profit and under of government control. It defeats the purpose of social change. We need alternatives to corp and gov control. If your line of thinking is on these issues, feel free to connect with me.


[Union Square Art Show. Picture of the work, "Hearts", San Francisco, California]

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @ebonsi【ツ】I love your very interesting introduction and your beautiful photos, Cheers!

Thanks @pilgrimtraveler! I was thinking I should put a legend on each photo so people will know their locations. Not everyone knows San Francisco. I'll do that later!

Great first post, following. If you need any help with how to verify artwork on future posts just ask.

Welcome to steemit. Great post with very good content and photos

Thanks @ ianstrat!

Welcome to Steemit @ebonsi! I'm looking forward to seeing some of your works. I've been working on several guides to help newbies to Steemit navigate and better understand the site. I'm going to leave this right here Best Practices for Steemit Newbie Artists - but I would also reach out to @opheliafu - she's an awesome lady, very giving of her time and knowledge, and an ace curator here. All best! :)

Welcome to the Steemit community @ ebonsi!
-followed and upvoted

Hello Eduardo. It's a good thing that you've been welcoming new members in the platform even before you made your introduction. This time, it's our turn to welcome you. WELCOME TO THE COMMUNITY.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00