Introducing Myself

Hola SteemIt community, I am new here and learning how this all works. A little about me, on a good day I would consider myself either an artist, a thinker, a problem solver, an activist, or some combination inbetween. I don’t like to limit my art nor my mind, by confining it to specific specialties or topics. I prefer to utilize the knowledge I have to expand the scope of what I know, can comprehend, and can do.

One of the most valuable lessons I took from my college experience was that despite what so many would have us believe, if we are capable of creating art in any form, it means we have the type of mind which can create art in all forms, with some practice. So as my teachers told me to focus on a single form of art, I found myself amazed and overjoyed with the fact that I could learn so many. So that became my focus, to learn as many different ways to create art as time/resources would allow.

Over the years, I have trained in many different types of art. From drawing, to painting, to watercolor, to sculpting in clay, then wire, then metal, to acting, directing, stage building, sound and light design, to graphic design, to music, to writing, to photography, to cinematography, etc, etc, and so on and so forth. Art for the sake of art has never been my goal however. My passion is in creating a kind of beautiful utility, akin to what I see in nature. For example, a tree has so many different ways to be beautiful, but also does many other things which further the circle of life, such as producing oxygen and absorbing CO2. My preference is to create art with a purpose or a function.

All this said, I cannot open my mind to create art and see/interpret the world around me, whilst simultaneously closing it off to the realities of life I plainly witness. As with many artists, I can’t help but feed my art with the suffering I see around me and or personally experience. I can’t help but think about the deeper things, like the “whys” of life, and the “whats”, and the “hows”. When I look at a tree my mind begins to break it down in methods with which I could recreate it as a drawing, or a sculpture, or whatever. I do this with everything though. So when I see a problem/issue/conundrum, my mind begins to break it down for me in the same way, just not for art purposes. It seeks to make sense of it, and resolve whatever issues present.

So I believe my presence here in this community will be in the form of posted art projects, written works of either fiction or my attempts at breaking down issues I see in the world, or just simply my musings on various topics. I hope my being here brings a positive addition to your community and I am happy to have joined you. I look forward to what all our minds, perspectives, and skill sets put together, will produce.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @drawncollusion I have upvoted and sent you a tip

I love these pieces! Look forward to following your work

Thank you, I appreciate that!

Welcome to the parade! I have been here for almost two weeks and am loving it!
Very helpful people here that will get you learning the ins and outs of this place, just keep an eye on you feed.
I look forward to seeing your posts and discussing views.

Thank you! I have been really enjoying being on here. I'm still learning certainly, but i feel like I'm slowly catching on to a few things.

Congratulations @drawncollusion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey brother. Found you. :) Hope this goes well for both of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45