DinoDoc Introduction

in #introducemyself6 years ago

dino doc.JPG

Hello, my name is Bruce with screen name dinodoc. I am looking to share information on pathologies, especially in dinosaurs and share my research. I am brand new to this community and and to this concept. Taking baby steps.

Sort:  

Welcome

Welcome Dinodoc, love the nickname! Glad you are here and joined part of the steemit community. It can be a lot to take in all at one time, but if you have any questions or would like any guidance, I'd be happy to help guide you through the process... Just ask.

The platform is relative new but growing at a rapid rate, so I think you will be amazed at the things that you will see. So I have you enjoy it here and find the experience rewarding!

Thanks davemccoy. I have joined this community to share some of my recent works and ideas. I do have a question or two. What is the best way to share a new article (unpublished) or even link to some published work? I understand there is a character limit, so should this be divided into smaller posts? I am really new to this type of platform and hoping the community will be patient while I figure this out.

Hi Dinodoc... I think the best way (in my limited experience) is to keep posts into a "2 minute" readable limit. Most people are essentially scanning through posts and things that catch their interest, they will dive deeper into. So I would suggest either, breaking a long piece into multiple sections (with a "coming next on part 3" format teaser) or doing a synopsis with the highlights and then linking to the full article.

Now that advice is to get the most attention and catch the most eyeballs...

But you can also post a full version if it fits within the post limits (I'm not sure what they are, but I say put it all in and see if it takes it)... If you do this, you will have a linkable page that someone who is more interested can take the time to read.

So in essence I would say you can do both, just pay attention to what works best with your followers.

One other point, you might want to use pics if you have them. People love the pics, so you will get people to look if they simply like the picture.

Regarding the dividing into smaller posts... As discussed above, that is a good way, and if you do it that way tell a story chapter by chapter so that it builds on itself with each post. (and link to the other chapters).

And finally, have absolutely NO CONCERN about the community being patient. Everyone wants to see the platform succeed, we all succeed if it succeeds. So therefore don't be afraid to try anything, as long as it is a sincere attempt to communicate with people there isn't a person that here that will object.

And one last thing, when you post for the first few times make sure to tag your posts at the bottom. You can use 5 words to do so, so if you don't know what tags to use, I would suggest the following to use to get you the most eyeballs.... #life #science #dinosaurs #steemit #nature

If you have any more questions, just ask!

Thank you so much for the advice. I will try it this way.

Excellent... Let me know when you put things out and I will at least give you my candid thoughts... Stay in touch!

Just posted Part 1.

Hey there and welcome :) Fellow scientist here - what brought you to Steemit?

The son of a friend and research collaborater talked about it and I thought it might be fun to try it.

I look forward to reading your posts :)

Hi @dinodoc! Welcome to Steemit. I simply cannot wait to see your posts. I'm a huge fan of paleontology. So glad you are here!!

Thanks. I will be posting on dinosaur pathology soon.

Looking forward to it.

Hello Dinodoc :)

So are you a professor or something?

I have been called worse.

hehe XD It's a serious question though. If you are and you do a proper identification post I have a feeling you will get more support in your scientific posts :P

I am open to suggestions. I am very new to this platform.

You should do the verification post!

Hello @dinodoc. Welcome to Steemit. I can't wait for next post. I think it'll be great. Nice to meet you, sir.

hey @dinodoc welcome to steemit
hope so it'll be friendly here
lets coordinate and follow and upvote eachother ✌

Welcome to steemit @dinodoc. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dinodoc to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to Steemit. Great name. I really look forward to reading your posts, sounds like they're going to be very informative. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95