My first Steem Dollar cashout to BTC then to € with Bitstamp (Europe) [helpful for newbies]

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

BTC is now just over $2400 and SBD went 25% up in last seven days. I guess it's a good time to convert some SBD to BTC. I'm going to invest in SBD as well; but I couldn't resist the current favorable prices. As BTC went down, I will stock this BTC until goes back up to around $3000. This is how cashed out:

I deposit BTC to my Bitstamp account; first get a BTC deposit address.

I've SBD 146 in my Steemit wallet. I choose transfer some SBD from the dropdown menu.

Now head to BlockTrades, choose Steem Dollar as Send (input) currency and BTC as Receive (output). I wanted to transfer SBD 125. Now copy-paste the BTC deposit address and click on Get a new Deposit Address button. I'm asked to transfer SBD to @blocktrades with a memo.

Fill in the required fields in BlockTrades transfer pop-up and click on Submit button.

It takes around an hour for the BTC to be in my Bitstamp account. I can check transaction status at blockchain.info with my BTC deposit address. Once the BTC is in my account, I can convert (sell) it to USD and then transfer to a European bank account.

I indeed reserved the cashout (exchange BTC for USD then to €) to euro step for a later time when BTC reaches $3000 haha.

Sort:  

Thanks for joining us! :) Enjoy the ride!

It's a pretty freaking enjoyable ride :)

meep

Welcome to Steem @cryptovest I have sent you a tip

Thanks!

Thanks for sharing

Is there any reason why you decided to cash out even the BTC?

SBD was up but BTC was actually quite low in values, maybe you could have gain much more by keeping the BTC for a bit longer.

Anyway great tutorial! It's really clear, and I'm sure it will help a lot of people.

I actually did not cashout to euro as I'm expecting BTC to continue the upward trend. Thanks for indicating the maths!

Smart choice in this case :) Couldn't agree more with the strategy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36