Intro Post: I finally made it to Steemit

Hello Steemians

I am Scott from Australia. I am excited about joining the Steem community.


20170906_071105.jpg

My wife Shelly @shellyduncan loves Steem and she has been posting, mainly about our travels, for the past 3 months. Ironically I got her into it so thought it was time I bit the bullet and got myself joined up (Thanks to @scooter77 for helping wifey with this and being my first follower! Even before her!)


Some of our favourite travels
travel.jpg

I enjoy fitness, running, bushwalking and paddle boarding. I also enjoy travelling and have spent a fair bit of time exploring Asia, Middle East and parts of Europe. I also enjoy meditation and other mind exploration practices to explore consciousness to attain altered states of awareness.


26.9 kms deserves a beer!
walk.jpg

My wife and live on a rural property north of Sydney and are undertaking gradually undertaking improvements so that we can grow more fruit and vegetables - creating a sustainable, self provisioned life is something I am also really interested in.


We grow 'em big here!
gardening.jpg

We share the property with a Jack Russel named Jesse and a cat named Ava - though it's probably more like the cat tolerates us living there providing she is supplied endlessly with Tuna.


The furbabies
pets.jpg

I am also interested in crypto trading and investment. I see a great deal of potential in crypto and believe that the blockchain will have some significant impacts on society and the financial system in the future. It will be interesting to watch this unfold and make money along the way.


Contemplating what the future holds
travel2.jpg

I'm looking forward to getting involved in some of the great communities I see on here and hopefully I can contribute something of value back at the same time.

Thanks for reading

Steem on

Scott


Source:

  1. Written content is original and written expressly for Steemit
  2. Photos are the work of @shellyduncan unless otherwise credited
Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit. Shelly was right, we do have a lot of interests in common though I didn't realise you guys were into self-sustainability too. My wife and I dream about going rural one day....

"blockchain will have some significant impacts on society and the financial system in the future"

Indeed. It sounds to me like you have a bit of vision and you are in the right place to explore that with like minds. I was never one to put much faith in social media, but Steemit is a whole lot more. There is a whole political and economic system here too that you should check out if you haven't already ;)

thanks @buggedout Yeah have been lurking for the last couple of months just reading some of the articles.. looks pretty interesting so can't wait to get into it.
Yep moving to a rural property was the best thing we did.. hope you get there in the end :)

Congratulations. This post features in my latest Curation Article. @MrSquiggle - supporting the #TeamAustralia community and promoting creative content. Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @mrsquiggle to continue to support the #TeamAustralia community.

Cool - thanks so much for that.. A great idea to support the team

WELCOME!!! I've been hanging to finally meet you! Great intro post and photos of course (girlfriend there is a total catch ;) I cant wait to read more from you. Im hoping you share your experience with altered state of awareness. We need a bit more spirituality up in here ❤

she is kinda a good sort isnt she!

Shes the total bomb diggity xxx

aahh you are her sista from another mister? haha good to finally "meet" :) yep might do some stuff on meditation, binaural beats and remote viewing as well.. many options :)

Welcome Shelly's husband. Great to have you on board!! Looking forward to reading your post. Hope you drop by the Discord chat sometime too!!

Thanks @bmj though since wifey has been on discord I never see her.. though she is much quieter which is good!

Welcome Scott, great to see you finally joined up. I look forward to reading more of your articles!!

thanks mate @gohba.handcrafts - but apparently I'm not supposed to ask you any questions about something called steemlords?

yes......that one is best forgotten about

Hello and welcome to STEEM, please give me a follow! I sent you a small tip to get started! Keep posting everyday!

thanks for your support

Welcome Scott! Some great pics of your travels. Looking forward to seeing more

thanks. yeah we had a lot of fun :)

Welcome :)!

sup.gif

Here a few tips for starters snce you probably won't get any advice from those who comment under here, here's what I gathered thus far.
It's tough to make money at first so if that's your main cause to be on here grind that into your head straight away, that doesn't mean you shouldn't post content, you should, but enganging with others in the comment sections to grow your following is your best bet. Which categories?

Probably the introduce yourself one and the photography section but you can choose things that you have knowledge about too and then go from there just know that there is a lot of crap on here so plowing through that just to connect with others can be tough. Cheers.

Thanks for the tips mate. Much appreciated

I'm also lucky because my wife got on here a few months back and I learnt a bit from her experience so that has already helped a lot to speed up some of the things it took her longer to get her head around :) Things she didnt know for the first month or so I've already got a head start on. So far most people seem pretty helpful and willing to support newbies.

Welcome fellow Scott! Nice to have you here and hopefully you can keep @shellyduncan in check! :)

Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

Thanks for the welcome and the advice getting set up :) I do my best with the wifey.. but well if you are getting to know her... she's a mind of her own. At least I get some decent cooking for my suffering lol

Oh bugger.. she can read this right?

You cooking tonight then sunshine?

G'Day mate! Welcome aboard!
Get yourself on #teamaustralia via the fabulous @choogirl!

Oh yeah I've been hounded by the missus to get that sorted... looking forward to joining the team :)

and I'll see you round!

@drwom hes gonna be busy tonight when he gets home from work :) unlike me he wont get too much playtime during the day lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62311.03
ETH 2443.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69