12 months off high heels

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

Bild AKJ Automotive zu viert (1)_legs.jpg

"You know, I just can't imagine you in the bush, not wearing high heels"... rough translation of my colleague's comment when I told him I would leave the company and my management function to go travelling and do some social work.

This is my first post, dear steemians! I decided to join and share my story, because it feels so good to have taken a decision that sounded crazy to some and even unpopular to others.

What happened?

Being 35, my friends are mostly married and busy having children. Well, not me. I'm a loving aunt and godmother, but that's it. Kids and weddings became a major discussion topic and I did not enjoy participating the conversations any more as much as I did before. And meetings got occasional, spontaneity and parties not being #1 priority of parents. Totally understanding the situation of my truly beloved friends, this was not the greatest situation for me.

I ended up spending quite some time dating men, but well - it just did not seem to match. My focus was on the job - which, to be honest, was not very fulfilling at the time.

Perhaps you can imagine me asking myself: is this really how I want my life to be? Being a woman who liked to tell her friends: "love it, change it or leave it"...?

What did not make it easier: I was very well aware of being actually a very lucky and spoiled by life: having a wonderful family, great friends, a job many would crave for and a nice apartment close to the center of a cool city.

A little hungover, I finally took the decision: I will quit my job and go travelling as well as doing something "good".

How finally the conditions of my leave turned out much better than I dared to hope, what preparations I - being a little perfectionist - made, where I ended up working socially and where travels currently take me to - I’ll tell you in the next weeks and months :-)

Sort:  

Congratulations @colinajo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

It's a good start as a first post.. Just keep posting!

Looking forward to seeing photos along the trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44