You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey I'm Diego and I just found out about STEEM!

in #introducemyself8 years ago

Welcome Diego. It seems like a lot of young people are managing to get out of Venezuela somehow. I would have thought the government would do everything it could to stop people, but apparently not.

Welcome to Steemit and good luck

Sort:  

I remember in 2006 when I was getting ready to leave, everything I had to take care of was done in a matter of 2-3 days. Somehow it was good for the government for the opposition to leave, that would give them better chances of winning upcoming elections. I went back in 2010 to get some other stuff ready before leaving to Canada and it took a little longer, but still, I was done in a week. Currently the situation has turned so bad, that it is very difficult for people to leave, they have no money and probably already spent their savings, even international flights are scarce and the ones you can find, are impossible to afford. In a way, a combination of government and worsening conditions have made it harder for people to leave the country. Still, I can notice here in Miami the amount of Venezuelans that keep coming every day, with nothing in their pockets but also nothing left to lose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42