Hey there, I'm Chris.

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

I realize that I haven't properly introduced myself, so I thought I would take a moment and do that. While you might not recognize my name, you have used software I helped out with, by either committing code, writing tutorials, articles, or documentation.

I began hacking on WordPress, all the way back to the first publicly available version, contributing code like the first dashboard and theme system, to the work I did on K2 for WordPress which introduced several new concepts like:

  • A theme settings page (a feature since adopted as a core part of WordPress)
  • A unique dynamic archive navigation system, a Humane Notification system inspired by Jef Raskin
  • A complete widget-field-builder (for sidebars, headers and footers), a concept also since adopted by WordPress.

I went on to write two books on WordPress, create numerous themes and plugins, and craft tutorials that taught you the power of this exciting new system. Eventually, ​the direction of the project from a philosophy standpoint​ ​ began going in a direction I couldn't follow.

Luckily around this time I became involved in the Apache Software Foundation at the ASF I worked as part of the infrastructure team, helping to design, develop and manage the various web presences of the Foundation.

I also traveled​ the world speaking about the intersection of community and technology. It was a good time. I have been either helping enable the self-publishing​ movement ​or directly participating in it for the last 16+ years.

I consider my greatest work to date helping to bring about a platform that democratizes voice and platform, to anyone with an internet connection and a web browser.

Steem, cryptocurrency and the blockchain are the perfect evolution of this work, which is why I am here :) Hopefully you'll let me join you on this journey and we'll see where it goes together.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @chrisjdavis! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks! Are you saying the above because you have noticed I have done something incorrectly, or as a general point to new users? I must confess your comment was a bit confusing at the beginning.

The new Steemians project looks great, I will help in anyway I can.

You are welcome to steem. I like people who are web/tech savvy. I will follow you through. Just upvoted you. Do Follow me if you like other Open-Source minded people.

A new Steemian ^^ hello @chrisjdavis I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post

Support me , follow me @mokh-tar

As a wordpress user, I thank you for your contributions and I look forward to seeing your posts

I appreciate that the work I did with WordPress was great, as is the community. I am looking forward to being part of this new community, and hopefully helping a little bit along the way.

Welcome to Steemit @chrisjdavis !

I also traveled​ the world speaking about the intersection of community and technology.

Did you ever picture this as that intersection? I realize Steemit isn't the first, but, I think with more people like you joining, we can be the best. l will follow you, I think I can learn a lot from you.

My focus was mainly how technological constructs can hurt or help communities, but if you get it right, they allow communities to scale, be inclusive and change the lives of those who are in the community, as well as the world, for the better. Tools like this are a natural evolution of that concept in my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99