Introducing...my—self!

Hello Steemit, fellow Steemians, and Steemers!
1960253_10201397381609074_828928826_n.jpg

Such a fantastic concept for a website. I'm going to be making quite a few posts in the future, on a variety of topics, so I think it's important to start off on the right foot. I am Callen Clarke. I love meeting people online, getting to know new communities, listening and sharing. But hate the process of describing myself, because this always involves labels, and labels means little categories that reduce and oversimplify who we are and what we represent.
10732243_10152345316315738_669272866_o.jpg

For instance, I could tell you that I'm an avid fan of Science, Discovery and Technological Innovation, but then it might surprise you to learn that I am a Christian. And then, if I start with 'Christian,' you might assume all sorts of things, and never imagine that I am also—what's the word? 'Muslim Positive.' That means I have quite a friends who are Muslim: Sunni, Shia, Arab, Turkish, North African, Persian, etc. IMG_6602.JPG

I'm also 'Israeli positive', 'Euro-positive,' 'Atheist/Agnostic Positive...' In fact, I'm pretty much 'people positive.' Or, to put that another way, I think what matters is the individual, not the ideology or geographical origin. None of which touches on the fact that I'm actually a Musician (composer/performer/producer) a multi-instrumentalist etc, in addition to being a Writer.
156093_10205247851065268_3736633249309664050_n.jpg
I still haven't mentioned the best part though, and that is that I am a husband and a father of four beautiful girls, two of whom perform Arabic Music with me on a regular basis...
17972314_10212599079069977_3781357965552045756_o.jpg
Oh yeah, the music and the Middle-Eastern thing go together for me... except when they don't...
14022169_10208811173329343_6374933017581573680_n.jpg
I could add lots more, but I think the point is made: I am complex, differentiated, impossible to pigeon-hole and uninterested in being reduced to labels or categories. In other words: I'm an individual, just like everyone I've ever met. And I'm going to approach this adventure in the same spirit: on an individual basis. I'm not interested in finding people who look and think just like I do. (I've already looked, and there aren't any.) I am very interested in meeting new people, hearing new ideas, learning and discovering.

Happy writing!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit. Hope you have a great first month!

Thank you Felix. Looking forward to it!

Nice to have you here, Mr. Clarke. Welcome onboard, I look forward to seeing those wonderful posts from you.

Thank you. More on the way. Hope you enjoy them.

Welcome! Voted and Followed you :) Check my blog out if you like @davidwilliams . Follow me if you like what you see!

I'll check it out, David. Thanks for the welcome.

Welcome here on Steemit. I hope you will enjoy your stay with us. Already nice pictures. Thank you!

You're welcome. Thanks for the greeting:)

Welcome to Steemit! This was a really nice post. Nicely done.Thanks for sharing :) Keep on Steeming.If you have any doubts, you can always join Steemit.chat and ask for #help.

Thanks, firepower. I'll probably join steemit.chat this week.

Thanks, firepower. I'll probably join steemit.chat this week.

Congratulations @callenclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @callenclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi man, i liked ur post and upvoted it, and i m following you right now ;)

Congratulations @callenclarke! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80