Hi there, I'm a freelance journalist, author and podcaster based in Brisbane, Australia

in #introducemyself7 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit! I've been watching your community for a couple of months now, and thought it was time to wade in and introduce myself.

I'm Andrew McMillen, and I'm a 28 year-old freelance journalist and author. I live in Brisbane, the third most populous city in Australia, where it's now summer. Our famously humid, subtropical climate today reared its head for the first time in a big way, maxing out at 38 degrees Celsius, or 100°F for you Americans. I tend to sweat a lot, living here. Besides that, it's lovely.

I make a living from writing words, and I love it. Today, I mostly write longform stories about topics that interest me. I started in music journalism back in 2007, but have been full-time freelance since 2009, and now write about all sorts of things.

You can find some of my favourite published articles from the last couple of years, on subjects such as suicide prevention, Wikipedia, political satirists, hospital schools, forensic anthropologists and Australian Outback police officers on my website: http://andrewmcmillen.com/about/

I wrote a book about about drug use and Australian musicians named 'Talking Smack: Honest Conversations About Drugs', which was published in 2014. http://talkingsmack.com.au/

I also host 'Penmanship', a podcast about Australian writing culture, which features in-depth interviews with Australians who earn a living from working with words. http://penmanshippodcast.com/

Now, I figure that Steemit is all about adding value to this community, so starting today, I'm going to be posting a weekly round-up of the best longform journalism, podcasts and books I've recently consumed. This digest already exists in email newsletter form, but I thought that it might find a keen audience of readers here, too.

I've just posted edition #131 of 'Dispatches' here: https://steemit.com/dispatches/@andrewmcmillen/dispatches-131-fruit-ninjas-borderline-personality-disorders-and-violin-thieves

I see that there are quite a few writers here on Steemit, and not too many freelance journalists and authors (from what I've seen so far, anyway), so if you have any questions about the craft or business of writing, I'd be happy to try and answer them.

Thanks for reading!

Andrew McMillen

Sort:  

Great to see another Aussie on Steemit. Look forward to your posts. Followed

hello @andrewmcmillen Welcome. Just an FYI, your account would be much better served (i.e. more $$) if you verify your account. There are several ways. Briefly and simplest is a pic of yourself with a steemit sign and date. Better is if you post a link on your site to your steemit blog and vice versa or twitter or something that states this is truly you. It helps with fake accounts. Any questions, let me know or anyone here for that matter.
full $teem ahead!

sounds interesting, share away. the scope of reading material from other corners of the world have always been of interest to me, we can get trapped by the media machine. welcome to steemit! :) - i'm new too!

Welcome to Steemit! I followed you and look forward to reading more of your work around here! Have a great start and day!

Your ability to compose simple words to something meaningful are welcome here. I'll watch your posts :)

I'm greatly looking forward to reading your work! Both on Steemit and other platforms. Welcome! (:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01