INTRODUCTORY POST

in #introducemyself6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, my name is Etieno Isaiah I am a 22years old. I was born on the 2nd of April, 1995 at Ikot Ekpene in Akwa Ibom State of Nigeria.

received_143930353073052.jpeg

Yaaaaay!!! finally i'm on steemit.

Growing up

I grew up in Ikot Ekpene area of Akwa Ibom State in Nigeria. Growing up was a lot of fun because of the kind of childhood friends I had some of whom are now parents. My dad worked in nearby general hospital so we just had to live in close proximity to the hospital.

Educational Life

When I was 3 years old, I got enrolled in Midtown Nursery school where I spent another 8years of my life. At that tender age, school seemed to me like a place where people are sent to be punished. On my first year as a pupil, every morning I will have to cause a scene before being overpowered and taken to school…lol. After completion of my primary education of reading, writing, drawing and mutilating my notebooks with crayons, I had my secondary education at a senior science college far away from home. In a school where most students stayed in the hostel, there were lots of fun. One of my teachers then was one who so much loved technology, each time he came to class he was always updating his students with new inventions and the part I enjoyed most were that of automobiles. His classes made me develop a lot passion for technology. My enthusiasm for automobiles became stronger such that my classmates knew me as that car freak that knew the worth of 80% of the cars on the road(s) but can’t afford the tyre of one, lol. My passion for technology made me thought of studying mechanical engineering in the university. After my high school, I applied for admission to study mechanical engineering in the University of Uyo, Akwa Ibom State of Nigeria and fortunately I was admitted. As a mechanical engineering student, I got to understand some of the principles behind the technologies my teacher had been telling us. My school is an interesting place to study. The lecturers are very friendly and fun to be with.

Family

Family they say is the greatest lovely gift a person could think of having that’s why I consider myself as one of the luckiest person on earth to have such wonderful siblings and parents that I’m part of their life. Being the second child in the pecking order (4 boys and a girl) has left me with so much responsibility from grooming of my younger ones to giving directions at home. The junior ones as you know at times could be very stubborn and difficult to control so as an elder child its my responsibility to see to it that everything runs smoothely at home owing to the fact that both of my parents are medical personnels (you know how tedious it could get for them, combining work and taking care of the family) and my elder brother studies far away in the University of Illorin in kwara state. So I’m now like the “head” of the family lol.

received_143930349739719.jpeg

Religion

As fate had it, I was born into a Christian family and that automatically made me a Christian. We worship in a Pentecostal Church about a km away from home. The church I attend has made a great impact in my today’s life. One interesting fact about the church I like so much is discipline and that has always made me a peculiar person. The wonderful events that occur in my church are the December and Easter retreats.

Sporting life

Sport is the one of the most interesting thing universally and my best of it is soccer. Soccer has contributed in my healthy leaving. One of the memorable in my sporting life is the day my department (Mechanical Engineering Department) had a match with another department (Chemical Engineering Department) and I chose to be a keeper for the first time in my life, the fear of being hit by shots overwhelmed me but I just had to do it. Interestingly, I turned to be the “Van Der Sar” of my department such that we didn’t conceive a goal and we eventually won with 2 goals to nothing (we may never know are capabilities until we give a try right?), never say “I can’t“. Less I forget to say this, I’m a stunch fan of Manchester United. One who will go in the rain just not to miss Man-U match. Jose Mourinho is a coach I love so much. He is always guiding his team to win though sometimes he draws. Ronaldo is one player I love so much for his goal scoring skills though he isn’t a Man-U player (what a great loss to Real Madrid Fc). Well, other players are Messi and Neymar. Believe me these guys make me thing whether they started playing soccer from their mum’s wombs, lol!!. Sport is very good and interesting. It’s something everyone should be involved whether male or female.

download (3).jpg

image source : google

Food

Wow, Food! Food!! Food!!! who doesn’t love food? This is another interesting part of my life. Food as we all know provides nutrients. Nutrients are substances that provide

energy for activity, growth, and all functions of the body such as breathing, digesting food, and keeping warm
materials for the growth and repair of the body, and for keeping the immune system healthy

Everyone has that food they love more than others’. Well my own is fried plantain (commonly known as dodo in Nigeria) with fried egg for breakfast. I could use my last penny to get dodo with fried egg or with fish, sauce and salad. In Africa, Nigeria particularly we love taking heavy meals in the afternoon. Eba with soup falls into the category of heavy meals and I love it with any delicious soup particularly white soup, yummy!!, though some people take heavy meals three times a day. Most of these heavy meals are carbohydrate foods which excess of it is not good for the body system. The primary cause of this could not be really narrowed down to poverty but ignorance and illiteracy plays a major role here. I sometimes fall a victim. Thanks to @peterakpan for introducing me to this platform. Evenings are for rice most of the time.

maxresdefault.jpg

image source : google

Relationship life

My own perception of love seems to be in is the reverse direction…like this uoᴉʇɔǝɹᴉp ǝsɹǝʌǝɹ ǝɥʇ sᴉ uᴉ ǝq oʇ sɯǝǝs ǝʌol ɟo uoᴉʇdǝɔɹǝd uʍo ʎɯ, lol. As a student who rarely paid attention to any lecture after 60 minutes (one hour), I use to go extra miles just to catch up with the lecturers. That included going for night classes. Well, going for night classes didn’t mean reading all night for me. There were some extracurricular activities and this activities are what made the campus interesting, not the assignments and exams. I liked meeting new friends, mostly females, I’m not a gay hope you know, lmao. Mehn...there was a girl I was really crushing on..I mean one fine pumpkin that will always make me read a page for 4hours without flipping over to the next page because of the thoughts that overwhelmed my mind. Funny enough, I never knew she was passing through the same predicaments because of me(meaning I was crushing on someone who had a deep crush on me too). Well, that is what happens when a shy person crushes on a shy person. Back then, everyone had a place they usually like to sit in the class(s) to read at night and I wasn’t exclusive. So there was this night I went to class and someone had occupied my space and guess who? My woman crush everyday. My heartbeat increased the moment she raised her face and noticed I was the one standing by her, she said hi with her soft sweet voice and I responded with hello(my baritone voice sounding confused of what to say next). In my mind I asked myself why I didn’t wear suit to class that night. I begged to join her since other seats were occupied, there were empty seats though but who slips from an opportunity? Absolutely not me!!. So she accepted I sit with her. Few minutes later, she brought out some snacks from her bag and requested I share with her that “there is love in sharing”, I wasn’t hungry though but I just had to accept it so my game will play on. She initiated a conversation and we got to know ourselves, all books remained closed as the conversation lasted for hours till the power went off. Shortly after power outage, she was drowsy. Sleeping with your head on the school desk is terrible so as the sleep kept tormenting her she dosed off on my laps(I never really noticed up till that moment as I was tryna grab a thing or two so I don’t waste my night totally). The whole class was engulfed in darkness….mehn…Nigerians will say “body no be firewood”. I was tempted as crazy thoughts filled my mind but as I didn’t wanna take things fast I was more focused on self control at least for that night which I later dozed off too. We woke up at about 5am, packed our big textbooks and hit the road. Strolling down the wee hours of the morning, we got talking about stuffs till we finally got to where we had to say goodbye. And yes! finally, she gave me her contacts, hugged, and went our ways. Getting home the whole scenario played to me like a movie and I wished every night class was like that...maybe I wouldn’t be passing my exams ..lol!. It started that way and today I have a beautiful girlfriend.

Life Goals

Life without goals is one without purpose. Everyone for sure has at least a goal and I’m not exclusive. As some other kids, each time people asked me “what do you want to become in future?”, I couldn’t think less than an engineer. My passion for engineering grew with me. As a kid, I did a lot of prototypes which include construction of cars(using cartons) and many other things which I can’t remember any longer. With these, I narrowed my goal in engineering to Mechatronics engineering (Mechatronics is a multidisciplinary field of science that includes a combination of mechanical engineering, electronics, computer engineering, telecommunications engineering, systems engineering and control engineering). I took a step in the pursuit of my goals by studying Mechanical engineering in uniuyo. All thanks to God, today I’m a graduate of Mechanical Engineering. Another of my goal is to have the capability to touch lives. Sometime in 2016, the sister of my best friend felt very sick and was dying on the hospital bed, he came to me for financial assistance and I couldn’t help him reason being that I never had the financial capability, perhaps I was his last chance she eventually died(tears)….. Rip to her. I see myself becoming the Mechatronics engineer I have always dream of and also having the capability to touch lot of lives in the nearest future.

_MG_0897 (2).png

after my final year project defence in university of uyo in 2017.

Likes/Dislikes/Hobbies

It is not fiction that all humans have likes and dislikes. This makes for a better understanding between people around you. I have had quite a peaceful life because of my ability to understand myself and those I relate with.
I treasure honesty and hate lies. I can remember breaking up with a friend because of lies. One thing that easily gets me attracted to the opposite sex is humility and cleanliness
Down to hobbies, my hobbies include watching tech-videos, especially, “how things are made”, graphics design, drawing of cars (talented in it) and playing video games too. I remember one day I spent hours playing the popular video game ”call of duty” till I got exhausted and went to bed. Something terrible but funny almost happened to me. While sleeping, I dreamt and I was the character in the game (a soldier). I was shooting sporadically, killing my enemy soldiers till nemesis almost got up with me when I was about shooting a terrorist who was aiming at me and I was out of ammunition. He was about to pull the trigger when I quickly woke up and I was like “THANK GOD IT WAS A DREAM” . I would be lying if I fail to include racing particularly “Need for Speed most wanted”. It has not skipped my memory that I was the first person among my friends to beat the fast and furious Razor in NFSMW. I always beat every single person I race with. Seems like I’m bragging, lol.

Nigeria

As earlier stated, I’m a citizen of Nigeria. Nigeria is a country located in the western part of Africa. Nigeria is commonly known as the giant of Africa and truly we are. There are so many things that make Nigeria a nice place to be, the lovely people and tourist attractions are not exclusive, but sometimes being a Nigerian is like preparing for war in the nearby future and that makes us survive in the toughest condition we find ourselves. The good, the bad, the ugly and the funny things that happen here makes the country more interesting than you will ever think. In summary let me say Nigeria is that place where someone ties a robe to a tree with the intention of committing suicide, upon sighting a snake, he runs away and leave the robe and you will be wondering if he wasn’t trying to kill himself…lol. Lastly let me give a saving tip for Nigerians ..if you save ₦1 everyday from the beginning of January by the end of December you might have gotten a stupendous some of $1. It’s an ugly thing right?..yes tell a friend to tell a friend to join the steemit community so we can save more…thank you!!

download.jpg

image source : google

A funny day I can’t forget

The funniest day of my life was the day I tried to charge my phone but it refused charging… I struggled with it for a long time till the charging pot got damaged only for me to open the phone and discover that I didn’t insert the battery.
Thanks to @peterakpan for helping me throughout the process.
I am here to steem, and to grow the community. Kudos to steemit for giving me the opportunity to express myself, touch lives and also earn.

received_143930426406378.jpeg

thank you @peterakpan for introducing me to steemit, this means a lot.

Thank you for reading!!!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit
We'd like to invite you to this community
Which is @elitesteemians. We would help you build a follower base and get up and doing. Just follow and if possible join the whatsapp group whose link is in our bio.

Nice job bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44