A weirdo on steemit! A steem'ing weirdo? Hello all, Irina is in the building! :)

Hello all! Please don't mind a moderatley self-centred title. I am very excited about the steemit platform!

One thing I am very much looking forward to and loving in the steemit idea is meeting truly like-minded people. It is something like Christmas when you meet someone who speaks your language (I don't mean the actual language, as I speak three of those fluently... So my chances aren't that bad). I'm talking more about ideas, views, values, hobbies... I mean how many people are there out in the world, with whom you can discuss sometimes very weird, and sometimes very niche things? A couple? Some? A few? Well, what really excites me about this platform is that it can be many more!

To be honest, when I was invited to join this platform by @allasyummyfood, I've been weighting the option for a while. And for a very straightforward reason...

Time. This is something that I have very little at the moment. What or who I am is a professional young woman, who moved from a little and beautiful city of Riga to a massive and even more beautiful city of London, and started from scratch. I changed jobs, I moved houses, I'm finishing a second Masters degree, and it has not been an easy path. However, it has taught me so much, and I enjoyed every second, even if it was a tough lesson I needed to learn. I will definitely be sharing my story with you in more details here on steemit. I am very intrigued and ecxited to find out how people would react to it and the thoughts you might have. But the point that I'm making here, is that steemit is a platform that, from one side, is addictive. And from the other, it implies responsibility, as I would've rather not post stories, then write something that's not up to standard. What I am trying to say, is that I might not post as frequently, but I will do my best to make it interesting and keep up.

Something that I guess can help me with that, and finding like-minded people, is the fact that I am is anything but scared to embarrass myself. The secret of being fine with feeling embarrassed is not about being born a wonder woman or with the self-confidence of steel. It is actually about feeling embarrassed so many damn times, that you simply get over it. One other thing about me is I am dyspraxic... And when you are dyspraxic, you hit a lot of embarrassment bottom is very quickly.

The reason I am saying this is because I would love to use steemit not only to share things that fascinate me, opinions or reviws ​​on books or movies... I would love to have a chance to empower people, and give them knowledge, which I know will make their life easier. Sounds like cliche... But think about it, when was the last time you made a difference for some? Does it still sound like cliche?... I will leave this thought hanging.

On that note, I would like to thank everyone for reading. I am very much looking forward talking talking to you soon.

Irina

Sort:  

Welcome to the platform hun :)

How to vote? :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29