#Introduceyourself , @Zholla

in #introduce6 years ago (edited)

Greetings Steemians,
20180613_163244.jpg
Past time to introduce myself as I have been posting for about 18 days or so. Here goes....
Much to my shock I find myself at a major crossroad. Where I live, acquaintances I thought would be lifelong friends and the things inside me that still allow me to leave the barn door open for a certain breed of scalawag to enter and disrupt my life needs to be addressed...but more than anything ... there is bridge I really should burn between me and what passes for the family I was born into. I need to assure finances for my future as I enter the twilight years of my life. And I think I might need to leave the city I live in.
In order to do these things and more...I need to examine the space between who I thought I was...and who I really am. These things I need to explore without input from the gatekeepers shame and guilt, the God of Pain....and prison bars carved from the false narratives I have traveled with for most of my 59 years on this planet.
I have a massive toolbox gained from recovery from a 19 year Axis I and Axis II diagnosis, 28 years in various fellowships as a friend of Bill and his not so distant cousins..., have run two DBT groups and a stress and meditation group simultaneously, the years spent in IBEW local union #3 as an M'dog...and the decades as a comic book vendor on the streets of New York City.

20180613_164004.jpg
I've lived in and visited countries on four continents so if my accent seems hard to place (once I upload my dlive or Dtube content) or it changes from time to time...pay it no mind.
How I feel, the things I want to do...how I share these moments in time...are informed from my experiences with the above and in my desire to move on to the next phase of my life. I want to do so...in essay and short...some times...very short story form. Essentially creepy stories without limiting myself and these tales...some of which are no more than outlines in the dark and others which I have no idea where they will take me.
Science fiction moves me like nothing else. Herbert's Dune, Asimov's Foundation, Gordon R Dickson's Dorsai and John Carter of Mars round out my cornerstones in this realm. ..but I dig the new moviestuff stuff like Spectral, Kill Command. Infini and Pandorum. Ex Machina and Annihilation are good for one stop visits but I return again and again to The Machine, The Signal, The Island and The Arrival etc. Anime is a form I love to explore ... Sol Bianca, Bubblegum Crisis, Planetes, Cyber City Oedo 808 but just started Klein's Gate and I am a binge watcher here of the first order. I love audiobooks to death but I believe comic books rank equally here. Miller's Dark Knight Returns, Moore's V for Vendetta and especially his absolutely head shaking opus Miracleman and the Manga BLAME! round out my cornerstones here. These things and more I would like to explore and dissect in this new frontier with you the reader.

drink-3142115_960_720.jpg
I stopped going to the movies after watching Gojira (Godzilla) stop at a bridge under fire to let a school bus cross. While it stopped me cold for Zilla is death...wholesale destroyer of cities...an avatar that forces us to remember the folly of war and our mistakes of the past...it was the texting and people speaking on their cells and their unshakeable belief in their right to do so that put the final nail in that coffin. I'm done with Star wars, Trek, Hobbits or Bond movies. Used to collect them...buy the media. Never again. I love Firefly. (BROWNCOATS RULE!!!) Jouneyman was the bomb. Got hit hard when the execs gave Firefly and Journeyman the axe. No more setting myself up. I am a Babylon 5 kinda dude. I try never to apply a StarTrek or Star Wars solution to a Babylon 5 problem. . Loved the New Doctor Who right up until the Clara era....second season. Just can't get past the first few episodes. Cancelled cable years ago. Gave notice to my Facebook pals that I would be gone for awhile. It was time to go. I need to spread my wings and the sky of facebook is too small for what comes next.

space-3197606_960_720 a.jpgSo here I am...knocking on your front door. I believe I have a lot of experience and hope for the future to offer by the way I excavate and bring value from the lessons of the past. It is my hope that you will feel this to be so and prepare a place at your table for me. Ciao for now. More on this later.

STEEM SBD.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28