Introducing Myself

in #introduce6 years ago (edited)

D8FD2518-BD8D-45D7-AEDC-84CF9F106BC1.jpeg

Hello everyone! My name is Jake. I'm a Canadian guy who has been living in Japan for the past 25 years. I've recently become an Anarchist, Libertarian, Voluntarian and Anarchocapitalist, but I'll write about that later. My main interests are:

Cooking & Baking - I love Japanese and International cuisines. I cook everyday. When I wake up in the morning the first thing I think about is what to cook for dinner! I have a website in which all my favorite recipes can be viewed for free. You can find them here: ‪www.jwebbcooking.weebly.com‬.

A97198F6-81AF-4CF0-AC38-6A4B550F5621.jpeg

6FA02A39-7F7D-4858-8845-3DCF7593BC35.jpeg

Woodcraft & Do-It-Yourself (DIY) - I like to make things from wood - wine and spice racks, shadow boxes, shelves, etc. You can view my woodcraft here: ‪www.jwebbwoodcraft.weebly.com‬. I even built my own house! Well, I had to because no Japanese bank would loan me money even though I had land equity. They said I was a 'high risk'. I think it was a blessing in disguise as I would've been in debt up to my eyeballs. So, I drew up the house plans on some graph paper and went to the village office to gain approval. Much to my surprise, the man working there kindly asked if he could make a copy, came back with the government stamp of approval on it, and said, "Good luck." Try doing that in communist Canada, the U.S. (or many other countries, I'm sure) and you will have to apply for meaningless licences, permits, and inspections, kiss ass and pay, pay, pay to get approval! It's blatant extortion and most people think it's normal because we've all been indoctrinated by education systems, brainwashed by the media outlets, and taxed, controlled, and lied to by governments for most of our lives. I hope more people start to become aware of these facts.

FC6B72AE-AC5B-4D48-8445-B0827B3016A1.jpeg

E17E0767-E5D6-4A55-969D-C60D1298E9C7.jpeg

Outdoor & Recreation - I like going to the beach near my house to relax and have a barbecue. Ever try Japanese beef (wagyuu)? It's quite possibly the best beef you'll ever taste. Really. Expensive but so good! The only thing that upsets me whenever I go to the ocean here is the increasing amount of litter. More often than not, garbage from Korea and China wash up on the shore either from the countries themselves, ships, and tourists. I can tell by the labels. There's also a lot of American garbage, too. There are U.S. military bases all over Japan. Drop two atomic bombs on a country and I guess you can do anything you want in that country. Makes me wonder what the heck is wrong with some people!

A5BCE54D-2779-4874-A681-A50147BC788C.jpeg

1FDBBC14-DF14-492B-8D46-75A484ECC251.jpeg

Cars & Motorcycles - In my teens, I raced motocross and owned a '67 Pontiac Beaumont (that's a Chevy Chevelle for all you Americans). I like to tinker with bikes, cars, and trucks. My current project is building a camper to fit my Mitsubishi Minicab truck.

75F41288-76F4-4F41-9DA6-F2F24FCDBDA2.jpeg

6C24EFA3-A229-46DE-A354-C8B6A38DF86A.jpeg

Traveling - I've been to over 25 countries in Europe, South East Asia and Africa not on vacation but mostly on business when I worked for a Japanese export company selling video arcade machines. My next destination is Acapulco, Mexico in February 2019 to attend the Anarchapulco and Cryptopulco conferences. I hope to make it there somehow. Anyone want to join me?

6AC2220C-C4BD-4D22-8539-3EB846365E46.jpeg

EA88AABE-086D-4EE6-B729-B645B66DB1EE.jpeg

Anyways, that's me. You can like, agree or disagree with some of things I've stated. That's entirely up to you. I won't be offended. That's what free speech, freedom of expression and debate is all about, isn't it? If you have any questions, comments, or advice to offer regarding or related to any of the above topics, let me know. I'm always happy to help other people and hope to learn lots of new stuff from my fellow Steemians. Good luck to all!

EE34DF75-B9DE-4A91-B82C-09C6FC2D97D3.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi, webbsensei! Wish you a very rewarding expereince here in this very cool community with many nice people :) Be happy!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

You have exciting photos. Some of the food reminds me of food I ate in Vietnam. I love Vietnam and adventures. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! I'd love to visit Vietnam someday. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72