Introduce Yourself

in #introduce7 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Intro Photo.JPG

I am excited to join this democratic community of writers!

Among other things, I am:
• A New York City mathematics teacher
• Surfer
• Hiker
• Climber
• Sailor (aspiring)
• Nature lover
• Father
• Husband
• Traveler
• Author
• Truth seeker

I hope to write on some of these subjects, and more.

I grew up in Long Island, NY where I had fun time growing up. At a young age, I fell in love with the outdoors, the water, surfing and just being outside. I went on to the University of Rhode Island where I kept surfing. From there I studied abroad at the University of Otago, in Dunedin, New Zealand. That trip inspired me to keep exploring and falling in love with the beauties of the earth and all of the wonderful people out there. Over a decade, or so, I was lucky enough to visit nearly 30 countries. In between, I worked as an environmentalist in fisheries conservation, then outdoor education, as well as in construction working for my father driving heavy machinery. I was lucky enough to get to work as a crew member with my two friends aboard a 42-foot sailboat cruising the west Pacific through the Mariana Islands, and Japan, as well as the coast of California and Central America on through the Panama Canal and to Florida. Loving all of this, I went back to Japan where I taught English for two years. It was in Japan, that I discovered my teaching career, as well as my fondness for writing.

I didn’t quite know that teaching would pretty much put me on the path to adulthood. Although I always thought I might be an expat somewhere forever, I returned back home to teach. Lucky for me, that lead to my great life with my awesome wife and two amazing daughters. I was lucky enough to have a book published, and to have lots of other great local adventures and experiences. But, I will admit, I do miss the vagabond life, and I do hope to go back to it at some point, some way. That’s in the works. For now, I am back in Long Island, keeping the exploration going, and working on the next adventure.

I hope Steemit will get me back to writing more and I am excited to read a lot of the great stuff you all are sharing with us.

Todd

@Toddzilla

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68383.66
ETH 2646.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72