Time for a change! My journey to make the most out of my (nerdy) life!

in #introduce6 years ago (edited)

Hello world!

I'm Dutch, I live in Amsterdam and am nearing my 40th birthday. I am a bit of a geek sometimes, can code in multiple languages but don't do it that often anymore. I am sort of not easily impressed. This can have funny results. But in general, things just aren't that interesting when they happen.

20170415_131455klein.jpg

"But you have a lovely smile in your pictures!!"

Yeah, I know how to smile. Don't worry! Is it a survival mechanism? I guess. You start joking to avoid not enjoying what you are doing. So you make it more fun!

So far, I have jumped headfirst into a few things that excited me. This resulted for instance in an extremely weird summer where I went to MANY Robbie Williams concerts all around Europe. It was so bad that I was recognised by people from the opening act when walking through a town in Germany. No regrets here though, it was an amazing time! And that counts for everything else on my list of temporary obsessions.

!

But why not, instead of looking for that rare thing that excites you temporarily, find one (or a few) thing(s) from that list and see if you can turn it into a long term career? Nobody will ever pay me to be a Robbie Williams groupie, I'd say. But there must be something!

So here I am, this is my plan. I will explore, try and fail. And hopefully, in the end, succeed! I will make you a witness of my journey. And hopefully, it will be of use for you too. Because while I may be a bit of an extreme case where life just is super boring as long as I don't follow my dreams, it can't hurt if you start following yours too. I'll be blogging about how to discover what you want, what excites you. My trials and fails of generating passive income.

A small sneak peek in some upcoming topics:
travel, cryptocurrency, health, life-hacking, photography, gadgets and entrepreneurship

Sort:  

Hello, welcome to Steem!

Thanks :)

Following your blog. Good Luck here on Steemit. Looks like you will be quite successful. Cheers.

Fingers crossed ! Thanx for the follow. Will try not to disappoint ;)

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome - as a future doctor I see any support in the #health area positive - And especially mental illnesses are a huge deal and are growing in numbers
Really looking forward to your content there!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, an account where I resteem promising newcomers! Greets!

Thank you @theaustrianguy! Still figuring stuff out but so far so good. Will check out the @welcoming account! And good luck in making the world a better place!

Welcome to Steemit, @r00sj3. I agree with what you wrote there.
You start joking to avoid not enjoying what you are doing. So you make it more fun!
You will do just fine here. Keep up with what you are doing, have fun attending Robbie Williams concerts and do share story from your concert visits too. Have fun Steeming.

Thank you :) I haven't been to a Robbie Williams concert in a while, but man, do I have some stories there!

Congratulations @r00sj3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit @r00sj3. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @r00sj3 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hi! (Talking to a bot, amazing!)

I'd like to welcome you to the steemit community. You'll find us a supportive bunch. Looking forward to reading your posts. Upvoted and following.

Thank you!

Hi! Welcome to steem. I hope to read amazing post from you. I followed and upvoted you. Would you be kind enough to return the favor?

I'll check out your account and if I like it, you'll get your fair share of upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84