Failed Sex Worker

in #introduce8 years ago

Hello everyone. I want to celebrate failure. At the risk of sounding trite and platitudinous I want to say that the only failure is in not 'having a go', as we say here in Australia. Steemit looks like a place where I can have a go by 'having a say' (another of my favourite Aussie expressions). 

I've had many different careers in the arts (and elsewhere) and not managed to make any money doing anything (mostly cos I get bored and move on to the next thing). I've been a stand-up comedian, an actor, a writer, a belly dancer, a novelist, a playwright, a poet, a short story writer, a screenwriter, a blogger, a cabaret artiste, a theatre reviewer ... A long list of thoroughly enjoyable activities. My low boredom threshhold is both a flaw and a strength. My finances are shite but I won't reach the end of my life wishing I'd done more of the things I wanted to do.

If you're frightened of failure, it might be cos you're overly concerned about what others think of you. Well, if you're like me and have even failed at being a sex worker (yes, truly! My post about it went under 'sex' but I don't seem to be able to find that while I'm writing this in order to include the link), you can't afford to worry about what anyone thinks of you. 

As an artist you have to have your embarrassment gland excised or you'll never create, not really; you won't express what you truly need or want to. Same goes for sex workers. (So I believe.) I'll be writing about more of my molar-grinding butt-clenching fails by the by. Here's a story to make you laugh in the meantime: a friend of mine once met Bjorn from ABBA. The real Bjorn, from the real ABBA. It was at the opening of the musical Mama Mia here in Melbourne. She was sloshed on red wine and had a glass in her hand at the time they were introduced. Shortly afterwards he made a joke, and being so very drunk she laughed way too loudly and snorted red wine all down the front of his pristine white suit.  Of course he was in a white suit.

Like I said, you can't afford to worry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.63
ETH 3502.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51