Hi I'm Jenna Sherman! I'm a Los Angeles based artist, music producer, and DJ. I'm So excited to be a part of the Steemit community!

in #introduce7 years ago (edited)

Hello!

          My name is Jenna Sherman, I am new to Steemit and I am very excited to join the community to share my world and learn from all of you! This is such an incredible platform to truly connect with others and learn about so many different topics, I am grateful to be a part of it. I'm looking forward to posting about my paintings, music, performances, travel, and so much more!

                                    

About me:

          I was born and raised on the beautiful coast of California in Venice Beach. I spent most of my days swimming and surfing as a child but the one thing I cherished most was a stack of paper and a jar of colored pencils. I would draw endlessly, learning from my Grandfather's beautiful illustrations that hung in a row wrapping all the way around my bedroom that I shared with my sister. Exploring my creativity as a young girl turned into a life long passion. I made my first acrylic painting in 9th grade and advanced to AP art the next year. I fell in love with realism portraiture and explored oil pastels, acrylic paint, pen & ink, watercolors, and graphite.

          I knew I wanted to go to art school, there was no way I was going to do anything else! I got accepted into the School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston with a incredible scholarship. I took a beginners oil painting class my freshman year and I fell in love! I experimented with other mediums such as; screen printing, photography, sculpture, welding, and glass blowing. I earned my Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in 2016 with a focus in painting and sound. Moving across the country from the sunny beaches of California to the terribly cold winters in Boston was a culture shock for sure! But, it was the best decision I have ever made. I went through lots of changes, breakups, hair colors, emotions, friendships, and really great experiences. I transformed into my true self and I've never been happier with who I am as an artist, human being, & woman. 

                                   


Here's some of my work ...


       

                                    Bloom, oil on canvas 36"x36", 2017



       

Bloom (left), Glazed (right), Keystone Art Space Gallery, Los Angeles, 2017



      

                                       Self Portrait, oil on canvas 36"x48", 2015



      

                                         Dean, oil on canvas 48"x56", 2013


More about me :) ...

          Not only is painting a huge passion of mine, so is music. I grew up listening to a wide variety of music which led me to discovering electronic music when I was about 13 years old. I was obsessed! I started attending raves and festivals at the age of 14 and the rest is history. My sister thought it would be a great idea to start Dj'ing, so by the time I was 18 my Dad got me my first controller and I quickly went from Dj'ing in my bedroom to throwing the raddest basement parties in college to playing to an audience of 2,000 + people in Los Angeles! My Mom gave me my DJ name, CRUX, which is a constellation meaning the center of the universe. 

          Starting out in Boston I Dj'd every single weekend at local bars, pubs, lounges, and nightclubs. College was a blast, that's for sure! When I moved back to Los Angeles a year ago I've had the amazing opportunity to play at my all time favorite clubs; Avalon Hollywood and Exchange LA (main stage)! I've got more shows to come this year, so stay tuned!

                


          Advancing in my music career I have learned the incredible art of music production in Ableton. I'm highly inspired by hip hop & RnB and my future music project will combine heavy bass, trap, and hip hop. I can't wait to share it with all of you! 


      

                                                         9/9/17 Exchange LA



          Thank you for stopping by and reading my first Steemit post! I hope you got to know a little bit about me and I hope to learn more about you! In future posts I'm so excited to share my painting process, different projects I'm working on, Dj shows, my music production, travel, and so much more.


Here are my social links:

Instagram: 

@JennaShermanArt

@Cruxmyheart

Facebook:

@JennaShermanArt

@Cruxmyheart

Twitter:

@Cruxmyheart

                                                                        

                                                               XXX, 

                                                                            Jenna aka CRUX



Sort:  

Awesome arts, love them :) Would you be up to posting a verification picture or linking to steemit on your instagram/facebook, whatever ;)
ID-theft is a common problem those days and we want to prevent that!
Anyways, resteemed you via @welcoming, my page for sharing promising new users!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks so much! I posted my Steemit blog to both of my Facebook pages :) Thank you for the heads up & the support!

Nice i love your artworks keep it up

the picture "Self Portrait, oil on canvas 36"x48", 2015" is very beatiful. How do you made it? Photo and then delineate, or out of your had?
Ah no matter anyway it's soo pretty!

Absolutely LOVE 'Bloom'. Simply stunning. I just joined the community too! Looking forward to hearing more from you :-)

Thank you so much ! If you're ever interested in ordering a print of "Bloom", I have them available on my website jennashermanart.com/shop :) welcome to Steemit as well! yay!

Ah great! I will check that out! Thanks for the info. Will follow you for updates and artistic inspiration!

Your paintings are amazing!

I wrote a little guide I share with new users, hope some of it might come in handy:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

There are also a lot of really good resources out there for minnows (new users). You should check out the following:

@thesteemengine
@qurator
@originalworks
@steembasicincome

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so you should try to post often.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way there through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other minnows you run into!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jennashermanart to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Welcome! Amazing art works - looking forward to hearing your music too! Always excited to see other music producers coming on board.

Thanks so much!

Welcome to Steemit and enjoy your stay!

There is a dedicated app for notifications called Steemify, we as @blockbrothers build this app. Just download it for free and never miss out on any notification!

Get it Here:

And while you're on it, me and my fellow blockbrothers are also a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy. Thanks for helping ;)

WElcome here on steemit!

Check out the musican crew here!
We have a lot for music and artists!
If you need help let me know
Hugs

Welcome to Steemit. Love the art pieces. My love is traveling and dance as well. So hopefully we can share our passions with each other.

WOW! Your art is LOVELY and I LOVE YOUR HAIR! (ノ゚0゚)ノ~ You're a DJ too! Very talented! I look forward to your posts ;;u;;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43