DO YOU CANOE? I DO !!! (I AM NOT A CANOE BANDIT)

in #introduce7 years ago

Sometimes, when I'm just thinking about WTH to do with my life, I build my own canoes. It's a great way for me to THINK, pray, commune with nature (or, nasty resins, hardeners, & chemicals), and otherwise fritter away my time in a semi-active and enjoyable way.

In this next picture, I am NOT a canoe bandit. What I am doing is trying not to breathe in any noxious fumes from the resin I am applying to the seams on this project. (For future reference - use a proper mask, not a t-shirt - and always, ALWAYS wear gloves and keep resin off of your skin!!!)

It's actually pretty easy. Well, ok, it's not - but anyone who puts their mind to it can make a vessel which will probably float. Just be sure to wear your life-jacket, in case you are not... "navigationally inclined."

I started sanding and painting old cars when I was 11 years old. I learned a bit about painting, and body-work, and applying bondo, and fiberglass repair...

I also grew up surfing, water-skiing, snow-skiing, and skateboarding - among some other inadvisable hobbies. Then, I moved to Eastern Oregon. And, I missed the water. So... it was time to get back out on the water.

I watched some videos on YouTube, figured out where to download some plans, for free, and put my mind to the task of building my own canoe - because I'm "handy" like that.

Honestly, when I started I did not how well this project would turn out. I mean, I'd never built my own boat before - and my previous attempts at construction were questionable, at best. It cost me about $350 and working at it part-time, for about 3 months...

It seems to have turned out pretty well. It's a bit unstable. My next one will be a bit deeper, wider, and have a transom built onto the back of it for mounting an electric trolling motor.

My dog, Pollianna, seems to have given me her seal of approval on this project. She even went out onto the Snake River with me to try it out!

Happy Trails!


Sort:  

If you support Steemit there is a great new article on this community being the Facebook killer! I am also featured in the article on Investorplace.com as being a musician on Steemit (Page 2 @wvm)! If you agree that Steemit is the Facebook killer upvote the post at the link below! Help spread the word of Steemit by spreading this article and the post around! Re-steem and upvote! https://steemit.com/steemit/@wvm/i-am-featured-in-investorplace-com-for-steemit-com-check-it also follow me here @wvm

I agree - SteemIt is going to be one of the nails in the coffins of Facebook & the YouTube. Why would you stick with a social media platform where the companies make all of the money, when we can spread the wealth out to all of the people who are doing the actual posting, commenting, and work?

It looks great. How many hours constructing? Cute sidekick a man and his faithful companion. Thanks for sharing.

I didn't really keep track of the hours. It's longer than you think, though.

I can definitely appreciate that keeping time was not a factor in building your canoe. It looks fabulous. I worked with a agent for true north log homes( aka Ron) in the UK and he built canoes similar to yours. Love seeing the work that goes into building one.

Are used to ride canoes back when I lived in Austin Texas

Wow! Nice job! I wish you a lot of wonderful ride with your canoe!

Thanks! Actually, I gave that one away to a charity called, Love Inc. It earned them about $400. I have been meaning to build another one - for the past 2 years. But, I bought my own place and also got married for the first time (at 43-years-old). Now, I'm working close to full time. But, good news!!! I bought a 20' aluminium canoe last week, and took my wife and our 2 dogs out onto the Snake River. It was good times! I'll have to post some pics of that one.

Hopefully, I'll do well with some of my investements & be able to quit my job & start working from home as a full-time Steemian at some point in the near future. We'll see...

It is very generous on your part to have donated your work, your canoe!
I am very happy for you for your marriage, life has two is so beautiful.
I wish you every success in your investments so that you can live the life of your dreams, it is so much more pleasant to do what you love in life. When our passions allow us to provide for ourselves, it is joy! Good day to you!

C'est très généreux de votre part d'avoir fait don de votre travail, de votre canoe!
Je suis bien heureuse pour vous pour votre mariage, la vie a deux est tellement belle.
Je vous souhaite tout le succès possible dans vos investissements afin que vous puissiez vivre la vie de vos rêves, il est tellement plus plaisant de faire ce que l'on aime dans la vie. Quand nos passions nous permettent de subvenir à nos besoins c'est la joie!
Bonne journée à vous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04