Hello good people

in #intro8 years ago (edited)

Hello good people, my name is Twinsen. I’m Australian, mid-to-late 20’s. Have worked for some time, and just returned to study. A friend of mine who has been contributing content here for some time suggested I get involved. I am no writer, but surely the only way to become a good writer is start as a bad writer, so here I am.




This is me and my Godfather Alberto. He is cool guy, I hope you will all think I am cool also, as I am standing next to him


A bit about myself. I like to think that I am a good person. I know the language is basic but as I have got a bit older I have realised a lot of the way we live our lives or the decisions we make all come back to basic principles like these.
We only have a brief moment in this existence to come to terms with the fact that we are here and why that might be. A lot of people talk about searching for meaning and I think that all we can do is use our own lives and experiences to come to our own conclusion. To me that just means coming to terms with what is, and being at peace with who I am and the decisions I’ve made. So I try to do what I feel is the right thing to do. OK, that kind of got away from me for a moment. If anyone has made it this far well done to you. I don’t know why you did it but thanks.

Some more about myself. I guess I will write about these topics at some point. I grew up in rural Australia. I volunteered for national service in the Finnish Defence Forces when I finished school. I studied and dropped out of an engineering degree. Worked in airborne survey around Australia and abroad, using fixed and rotary wing aircraft for magnetic and radiometric mapping for mining companies and governments. I have worked all over Australian in the most remote areas imaginable. I miss the outback now that I am living in the city. I’m studying again, this time it is a design course. Bit of a change of pace but I’m excited to be here.





I have a lot of interests and hobbies that come and go. I have been building computers since I was 10 or so. Had a little computer business in high school. Had a few businesses in primary school selling emulators and roms. At the moment I am fixated on folding knives. I don’t have any uses for knives but I am fixated on the beauty and engineering of the high end scene. I love getting fixated on something new and spending every waking moment obsessing and researching every aspect of the hobby.


I love Shiraz... I love Cabernet. I love electronic music. Scuba diving. Travelling. Learning to surf. Spending time by myself. Not seeing other humans for days or weeks at a time. Love watches, I wear a Seiko MM300 bit of a fan favourite. Will explore these at some point.






I have an interesting relationship with mental health. I have had many diagnosis’s but over time come to not place so much stock in these things. I’m not saying everyone is the same but in my experience I found that the best thing for me was to accept that there wasn’t a grand solution to everything and medication couldn’t change who I was, I found accepting myself and coming to terms with who I was helped me a lot. I have had my ups and downs…but now that I’ve tried all the chemical alternatives I’ve found that I like my highs high, and my lows low… that’s just who I am. I don’t want to live as though that is wrong and needs to corrected. The best parts of myself come from this place and I honour and respect that they come with some other things that I could possibly do without. Maybe I could work on these things. Maybe another time.

Anyway this is my rabbling introduction. Thanks for reading. I will try and structure myself better in future.

Hello Steemit. Happy to be here :)

Sort:  

I love knives too! Would be great if you did a post on that!

ah that's great! what are your favourite makers? I have a lot to say about folding knives haha, a few designs of my own i'm hoping to produce soon too

Welcome Mr. @twinsen, you took the first step. I think people will probably be interested in hearing about your fascination with knives... there are probably a lot of weapons fanatics waiting in the wings around here.

Keep posting and good luck!

will definitely have an in depth article coming about the knife world, from production to mid-tech, and handmade full customs, to explore materials manufacturing processes, design aesthetic and why i love what i love... would be very exciting to find others around that are interested in this stuff

thanks for the kind words, it is greatly appreciated!

Howyagoin aye ?
You don't need medication.
But your writing needs some commas.
Welcome :)

Thanks mate, I will definitely invest in some commas, thanks for the comment :D

Your grandpa is the man !! You too ! 🌞

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 5.0 and reading ease of 82%. This puts the writing level on par with Ernest Hemingway and Donald Trump.

Cool! I love you introduction post! Great post! Welcome here!

Thanks mate!

Congratulations @twinsen! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72