Guess I should introduce myself, so here is my intro to the community! (Story time from a newbie)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #intro7 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

My name is Josh, but I go by Sensatus here on the interwebs, I am an 18 yr old (yes I am but a wee laddy) student studying molecular biology and genetics, with a minor in astrophysics. I have always been interested in technology, and as such using this wonderful tool we call the internet, I have become a self-taught programmer and have been building websites, managing servers, databases and doing cybersecurity freelancing for people for a couple of years now.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 12.51.27 PM.png

What I am doing at the moment is probably way out of my normal MO, you could say that it is because I am not the most social media savvy individual. In fact, I do not operate any form of social media, and honestly I did not feel the urge to... that is, until 3 months ago when I first decided to take some of my paltry savings and invest in an ethereum. That one ethereum has since allowed me to start accumulating more and more crypto(and more recently hoarding a lot of Steem), giving me some money that as a newly minted college student has allowed me to take a more optimistic look at my future. About 2 months ago I discovered a little aforementioned coin named Steem, curious about it I decided to take a gander and Google it. To my surprise what I found was a pretty cool little(but ever growing) site that felt nothing like Facebook or Instagram, which I had long scorned. And as such, after a month of debate with myself, I decided that maybe this new frontier would be good for me, because lets be honest what is cooler than a blockchain backed social media platform! So here I am, and after a month I am already glad that I decided to join this community.

whale.png

So for a while now I've been stuck in a rut, being unable to find work, I have decided that I should create my own, and lucky enough for me, I have the internet. Thus, I have decided to share some of the lessons and skills I have accumulated over my life, and I think this platform might be the best place for me to do so. I have benefitted from others knowledge on here, and as is the way things work, I think I should reciprocate. As such, I am planning on releasing a three-time a week blog, on world news, cybersecurity news/tips and tricks, possibly a weekly health guide for those who are interested in such a thing, and of course, lots and lots of memes. I know it might take a couple of months, or a year, but I think this might be a good path for me to take.

For those who made it through this whole mess, here is a pic of an adorable puppy.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 12.46.32 PM.png

If you would like to see my future posts please follow me or upvote this post (whichever you choose or none at all!)

If you think a semi starving college student deserves some caffeine, and you are crazy/successful enough to afford it, you can donate to:

17kxfiXPJRGtw478FrNo4Nr9KwQXacUX8U (BTC)

Xjnu7uEDqbKz7vofKRJrvEBbu123VHSkq3 (DASH)

0xcD02a7968D80BC10c5a95ed535B468be776FB473 (ETH)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! You are going to love it here :)

Thanks for the welcome! Its been wonderful so far!

Welcome to the fray I like to call the "survival of the wittiest". Good luck ;)

Thank you! Ill make sure to sharpen my wit every day before dawn!

I'm sure you'll do fine :)

Wonderful, welcome to steemit. Always good to see young scientists in training here.

Thank you! It's awesome to be acknowledged. I also should say that your blog is incredible! It's awesome that you're able to reach so many people with your scientific content!

There are a group of us on steemit.chat (the real time chat for steemit users) working together to try to help spread science content here. If you are interested in joining our group chat would be nice to have you.

Link:

Join us on #steemSTEM

The group is a project which supports science posts with its own steemit user account @steemstem.

Cheers.

Thank you for the invite! I will most definitely take you up on the offer!

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for the welcome! (Great pictures on your profile btw, you can count me in as a sub 😁)

Appreciate that @sensatus and keep in touch!

Welcome aboard, Josh! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Hey there @sensatus, welcome to Steemit :)

I hope you get what you're looking for here!

upvoted
@shayne

Thank you for the kind welcome and the upvote! I hope I find what I'm looking for aswell!

yo i love your IRIS profile picture ... thats rad as fuckkk!

Haha thanks! My bro took the picture a year or two back, I'll let him know you liked it!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29