Just your usual Intro

in #intro6 years ago

Hello there Steam it community....... (I would've used the word "Steemit" but since it's marked as "misspelled" by the text editor, I shall conform to the norm and "correct" my grammar for a humorous effect to create the illusion that I am aware of my text morphology and that I will be writing about something quite intriguing ........ But really I am just typing irrelevant nonsense to fill up the text area and pass the first paragraph insert evil-laughing emoji).

Hi there guys my name is Marcél Fourie (A.K.A Mawsh , Mawshul) and thìs is my Intro post. I am a 20 year old , South African male located in Western Cape , Somerset-west and I work at a small web development company named "Divine Online Solutions" . Ever since high school I developed this likeness for art and design , which at a later stage became my passion. One can also classify me as your average computer junkie (playing online computer games for hours, watching Youtube videos the entire day, raging over faulty hardware pieces and then using that as an excuse for my bad gaming skills etc.), I also enjoyed coding and thus I became a web developer.

Hobbies


As I mentioned before, I enjoy creating artwork whether it be digitally painting a fictional character, drawing a snowy landscape scene on black paper using only white chalk , creating a over sized frog using a sculpting program or even writing a simple sentence using fancy calligraphy techniques . I find the concept of taking your own unique thoughts/stories and visually portraying it on paper, obsessively amusing.

One of my favorite activities would be drawing my very own cartoon characters. I remember back in high school I used to sit for hours doodling random characters with funny facial features and exaggerated body parts , like an old lady with a gigantic nose chasing the postman with a shotgun or I would sketch my annoying , overweight teacher being tortured by FURIOUS BABOONS !! ....... just kidding she wasn't overweight. Here are some of my recent drawings:

cartoon comp.png

Another enjoyable factor when it comes to character design is the Story. Every character has a story and just by sitting around , thinking of the character's origin and his/her abilities makes the experience even better. This also led me to the art of Animation. A long process of transforming the characters and stories that I've created , into a short entertainment film. The idea was addictive. When I think about the best form of visual entertainment, 2D Animation is my "Number one". I guess you could say that 9 year-old kid still resides within me.

In any case , this is probably the main reason why I'll be using Steemit , to share the tales. I've been searching for a good social media platform to post some random stories of my illustrations , and thanks to a lot of good recommendations , I chose Steemit. I can always write about my incredibly dull social life but that would reduce the amount of content on my post to a mere 22 characters (I have no social life.).

One of my new favorite hobbies is "Digital painting". I've always been fascinated by the wonders a person can create via the use of a computer , so I decided to try it out for myself. Here are some of my recent paintings:paint comp.png

Yes I know , poor Emma Watson is included in this compilation of horrifying behemoths , but I just had to she is most probably my best piece . As you might've noticed my preferred genre when it comes to painting is "Horror". Reason 1: I am a big fan of horror movies/games and although I enjoy a good dose of comedy gold , there are certain late-night occasions where I prefer to be psychologically scarred than to be dying of laughter(#Ineedhelp). Reason 2: Textures - its fun to create rippled skin, rough hide, glowing eyes, blood effects, slimy highlights, Razor-sharp teeth etc. Reason 3: the lore behind it, which is even more content for my Steemit posts.

The final topic i'd like to mention in this post, is my obsession with video games. As a kid, I was stuck with a PS2 console as my main source of entertainment for 5 years , which is probably enough dopamine production for a 7-year old to become an addict, is it not ? Even though I wasn't really good at playing these games I still enjoyed the role-playing and it is, till this day, my biggest inspiration for creating characters and writing folklore. I can write more about my history and love for video games but alas, I am nearing the end of my post.

I'll end of by saying: Thank you & If you're still reading this , you're almost as insane as I am.

thank-you-so-much.jpg

Sort:  

Finally, welcome aboard!

Gosh that was a hectic read. Two things were noticed. 1st: You are clearly insane. 2nd: I am no longer alone in that group. Cheers dude, welcome to Steem.....it!

Congratulations @mawshul, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

some crazy talent right there bru. welcome!

Congratulations @mawshul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Amazing intro!! I really look forward to seeing more of your content. Great artworks man. A BIG welcome and thank you for joining us at teamsouthafrica. In future, remember to use #teamsouthafrica. Since it's your intro, I'll let it be :)

Nice art, nice post and let the child in you stay there forever @mawshul

Visiting from #teamsouthafrica

Welcome to Steemit :) you seem nice.

Definitely following you.
This was funny, interesting and disturbingly relatable.

Congratulations @mawshul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50