Hello STEEM

in #intro6 years ago (edited)

This is my first post on steem, the traditional introduction post.

Where did I find out about steem? I've been looking for a less intrusive alternative to Facebook and saw steem mentioned as one of the alternatives. I decided to try it out.

What is my online/social networking background? I have a huge, sprawling and now sadly neglected website at www.DaleCozort.com, with some stuff stuff dating back to the late 1990s, as well as two blogs that I need to spend more time with. I was active on the Gather social networking site for many years until it shut down a few years ago. Since then I've been mostly on Facebook and not particularly happy or active there, though I have a few followers and a few hundred friends. In some ways steem reminds me of Gather and I'm hoping that if the site works the way I think it will, I can talk some of my Gather friends into joining me here.

My interests: I'm a writer, with half-a-dozen or so published novels, some traditionally published and some self-pubbed and a lot more on the way. I write mostly science fiction, though if I wasn't writing science fiction I would be writing mysteries and my novels always contain an element of mystery. My day job involves education and computers in a supporting role. I spent many years as a computer programmer and more years teaching computer skills, but have mostly pulled back from that now.

I have a huge range of interests and love to write, so I hope to be very active here. I love to read, as the background to my picture indicates.

Thoughts on steem based on my first few hours here: I like it so far. It has a good feel to it, mainly in that it feels as though members have quite a bit more control than we do on Facebook. I don't quite get the Crypto-currency aspect yet and suspect that it would be more of an incidental bonus for being here rather than a primary motivator. That may change as I get into it more. Money, even crypto-currency, for writing is almost always a good thing.

A social network is only as good as the people on it, so I'll have to see how that works out, but so far it looks good. I'm looking forward to seeing what steem has to offer

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Good to be here, and thanks for helping me feel welcome.

Congratulations @dalecoz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you! I'm new to the community, so I hope I responded appropriately to this.

Welcome @dalecoz!!

I think you'll be more than Happy being an steemian.
This site is huge and full of amazing people. Take a look in my blog if you want to learn how be succes in Steemit.

My best regards!

Thanks for the welcome. I'm certainly going to keep exploring.

welcome here wish you have a good time

Thanks. You too.

Welcome to the community.

Thanks. I'm looking forward to meeting a lot of people with common interests.

Your welcome to this wonderful community, you have a lot of experience to share with us here. Wishing you success.

So far, it's been fun.

You came to the right place. Start grinding, my friend and invest some money in steempower.

I'm still learning the ropes, obviously, but so far I'm having fun doing it.

Find posts with topics you're interested in. Start commenting and interacting. Very important. With just posting it's hard to attract new followers.

HELLO @DALECOZ WELCOME TO STEEMIT I HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS PLATFORM AS I DO....

So far, so good, thanks.

Welcome to steemit ..
I invite you to visit my blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50