New on Steemit: Photographer who likes sharing my travel stories and photography tips. Hi all!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #intro7 years ago

"Dude, it feels like the old days of the Internet again," my photographer friend Mikey.

"Really, how so?" I asked.

"I've been posting a lot on Steemit for the past month and people are showing me a lot of love," said Mikey.

"Really? I'll have to check it out..."

That was my introduction to Steemit. (By the way, you should checkout Mikey's posts: @lightenup). So here I am.

Where do I begin? I would like to keep this introduction brief. I have been working as a freelance photographer for a decade, but I really love travel. I have been to every state in the U.S. except for Alaska and Hawaii. I've also traveled to 16 countries and lived for a year in Colombia. That's part of the reason I speak Spanish as well. Recently I decided to create a YouTube channel that shares my travel stories and photography experiences.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Photography and travel was a natural evolution for me since I had been working as a newspaper writer out of college. I began adding my own photos to freelance articles, and wanted to connect with a wider audience. That is why I decided to move to Colombia and learn Spanish. Living in South America, I learned a lot more than that. It gave me a new perspective on life I never saw living in the United States. I still feel like it was one of the best things I ever did. At the time I began taking photography seriously and started a blog, which is still online here: http://www.lifeofbrett.com 

Recently, I have been working on a photography project about tobacco farmers  in Cuba, which you can see here: https://brettgaramellaphoto.com/habano-men

Some of my most enjoyable shoots have been working on personal projects in rural areas of Cuba and Colombia because the people I photograph have the values and character traits I admire most - hard work, persistence, remaining humble, and helping others. This is why I admire Estaifan Shilaita. Who is this man? I met Estaifan spontaneously in downtown Chicago. He is taxi driver who was waiting for a ride, and we began talking. His story was an improbably one - growing up as Iraq's best light heavyweight boxer and soccer goalkeeper - but I later discovered was completely accurate. After meeting his family, I was convinced his story needed to be heard. Fast forward several years, and the short film I co-directed about Estaifan's life qualified for an Academy Award and is featured on National Geographic: 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Every project I work on, I try to make it better than anything I have done previously. I believe this is the best way to expand as an artist. I also believe it is important to surround yourself with talented and supportive people. For this reason, I am glad to be a part of the Steemit community, and I look forward to meeting you and seeing what you are doing. I don't believe we have to have the same interests or work to be inspired... inspiration is everywhere if you are open to it!

Sort:  

WELCOME TO STEEMIT

I appreciate if you follow me !!!
Your comments are always welcome,
I will try to answer as much as possible.
Good luck with your trip in this communitas,and upvote to your friends as much as possible, and the reverse.

follow me @aar

Regards community steemit
Thank you

Upvoted! will keep an eye out for your blogs, really nice story and pictures.
I blog about my travels of the last four years and Amsterdam.
love the pictures, keep them coming

Thanks, I appreciate that. Amsterdam... very cool, would love to visit. I'll check out your blog. Thanks for the encouragement!

Hey there, and welcome! I would love to visit Columbia, what an incredible place. Looking forward to following your travels and seeing more of your awesome photos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46