Biking while pregnant: An interview

in #interview8 years ago

Biking in Mpls: How long have you lived in Minneapolis, and when did you start biking here?Jessica: I’ve lived here since 2006, so 9 years. I started biking about a year after I moved here.

Biking in Mpls: Did you bike before that, or how did you get started?
Jessica: I lived in Florida which is not very bike  friendly at all. Other than riding around as a kid, and in college I  rode my beach cruiser around to class sometimes, I didn’t really ride. I  didn’t own a bike when I moved here. Not a real bike.

Biking in Mpls: What was the thing that caused you to get started biking?
Jessica: Seeing how many other people were doing it. At  first I thought it seemed unbelievably impractical to ride your bike  downtown and then after awhile I was like, I think I could do that. Then  I started trying to ride downtown. After that I saw people riding in  the winter and I was like, no way. A year later, I was riding in the  winter. Once I started doing it I realized how much faster it was and I  could leave when I wanted and get where I wanted to be when I wanted,  and not have to wait for a bus, and not have to wait for someone to come  get me. It made a lot more sense to do that.

Biking in Mpls: When you started biking did you buy a bike right away or did you just use what you had?

Jessica: I rode my beach cruiser downtown with its big  awkward handlebars that would almost hit the sideview mirrors of all the  parked cars. Then I got a used bike from Craigslist and rode that. I  don’t even remember what it was now, just an old vintage frame.

Biking in Mpls: What sorts of things do you do on your bike  besides getting from point A to point B? Do you do any group rides or  racing?
Jessica: I used to, this year I’ve kind of scaled back.  I like doing long adventure rides or gravel races, like gravel  centuries. I don’t really race race, I more do them for fun. I’m not  particularly competitive. I do it more for the challenge and the  scenery, and for personal improvement to see if I can improve on my own  times. Last summer I did a ride called Oregon Outback, which went across  Oregon on off-road, dirt trails. I like doing casual racing but not  anything serious.

I like general group hang-outs with my friends, ride to breweries, ride  to each others houses. Last year I led the women’s weekly Hub group  ride. This year I think my friend Loretta is leading it, but last year I  led it. It’s just for women, it’s a road ride, and I think it’s  Wednesday nights. This year I decided I’d take a year off from that.

Biking in Mpls: I see you’re riding a road bike, have you been able to ride in that position even though you’re pregnant?
Jessica: Yeah, it’s very upright for a road bike. It  does work very well right now with my condition. It’s getting to be a  little uncomfortable. I’ve had some really sweet friends offer to put  upright handlebars on it, so I might take them up on that pretty soon,  but for now it’s working. I thought about buying a cheap step-through  frame so I don’t have to throw my leg over, but I’ve made it this far. I  only have two more months, so I’m going to try to tough it out. If I do  have to do more transit and walk a lot the last month, that’s okay.

Biking in Mpls: Has anything changed since you’ve been pregnant with regard to bikes?

Jessica: Yes, I haven’t been doing any of the long  endurance rides. I was hoping to do it up until my third trimester but I  found that I’m way more winded and tired than I used to be. I think I  had some really awesome role models who led me to believe it would be a  lot easier than it’s been. A couple of my friends who’ve had babies and  continued to ride bikes were just such badasses. It turns out I’m a  little more tired than I thought I would be.

Biking in Mpls: Has being pregnant affected the way you feel when you’re riding around town at all?
Jessica: I’m a lot less risky. I wasn’t really risky  before, I was always a very conservative rider, but now I’m extra,  extra, extra conservative. If a light’s about to change, I’m stopping. I  won’t take certain roads that I never would’ve worried about. If it’s  raining I don’t really like to ride. The drivers are a little more  unpredictable when it’s raining and it’s more slick. Rain didn’t used to  bother me at all, now I’m just a lot more careful.

And I’m a lot more angry at cars when they do more assholey things. I’m  like, “I have a baby!” I’m sure drivers think I’m being irresponsible by  riding but I don’t see it that way. I don’t see them as being more  entitled to the road than I am. I’m outraged when they’re careless  because they’re not thinking about the lives they could be putting in  danger.

Biking in Mpls: When you have your baby, do you know what you’re going to do to bike around?
Jessica: We’re going to wait until he’s a little bit  older. We’re playing with some different options. My friends have been  really helpful posting links every time they see anything about biking  with a baby. We’re probably going to get some kind of trailer that we  can secure the baby carrier to. Once he’s a little older we’ll look into  getting a regular kid trailer, and a trail-a-bike when he’s much older  like 3 or 4.

Biking in Mpls: What’s your favorite thing about biking?
Jessica: My favorite thing is the feeling of  complete independence it gives me. I don’t have to rely on anything but  my own two legs and feet to go anywhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66