Sndbox Spotlight 5: Interview with @natureofbeing [Steemit Craft, Collaboration and the Future of Creativity]

in #interview7 years ago

171112_Sndbox-Spotlight-natureofbeing-01.png

Spotlights are interviews! @sndbox reaches out to creative individuals and communities of all experience levels. Our goal is to raise awareness towards new users and help connect them with experienced Steemians. (50% of the SBD earned from this post will go directly to @natureofbeing’s account to support her incredible craft and content.)

171112_Sndbox-Spotlight-natureofbeing-02.png

@sndbox : Hi @natureofbeing, thanks for joining us, tell us about yourself!


@natureofbeing : I’ve been a ceramic artist working out of Portland Oregon for about 25 years and in August 2016 I started posting on Steemit about my mosaic work. My work consisted of private and public tile commissions, a collection of commercial production tile and some art-making for its own sake. A friend from college @fairytalelife brought me on board and initially I experienced a steep learning curve both in terms of navigating the platform, and also with writing and showing my work in this kind of way. I hadn’t ever really written a story about my work before nor thought that anyone would have much interest in seeing this depth of process, but I took her advice and quickly became hooked.

171212_Natureofbeing.jpg

@sndbox : It's great to have a helping hand early on. @fairytalelife also kickstarted our engagement here through words of wisdom, amazing feedback and support. So, in terms of your experience as a ceramic artist, how has Steemit and decentralized technology affected your work?


@natureofbeing : Developing content for Steemit has had profound repercussions for me both within my artistic practice and also with how I value myself, my work and my outlook on the future; I would go as far as to say that it’s been revolutionary. The concept of my intellectual property, my skills, my know-how, my perspective having value has slowly melted out of my consciousness the paradigm of what I call “artistic slavery”.

It has taken me awhile to integrate how to best use Steemit and I’d say that I’m still in the process of figuring out the ways I want to expand the potential of Steemit with my work.

Also worth noting is that I’ve found interacting and commenting to be surprisingly fulfilling and inspiring. This is partially because responding to topics via comments gives me the opportunity to kick around ideas on a variety of subjects with people and I love that. But mostly the power of Steemit relationships lies in the uniquely personal and in-depth nature of the content here. It allows for especially sweet connections because there is something about sharing what feels risky and discovering that people connect with it.

13 nearly finished-1.jpg

@sndbox : Absolutely, engagement is key on Steemit and so empowering. Thinking long term here, what do you envision as the future of Steemit for creative and community professionals such as yourself?


@natureofbeing : Steemit has the unique capacity to effectively empower everyone and anyone. It’s pretty exciting to see what it can do for the disenfranchised - and I would consider a segment of the creative community in this category. It provides the possibility of stepping out of the age old model where our work is feeding a larger system that doesn’t benefit us, a system that profits those already in power rather than the source of the creativity and the mastery that belies it. In fact I see this disruption as being revolutionary for creatives world-wide and perhaps even having the potential to alter the way the average consumer values creative content of all kinds.

And of course, I for one love seeing creatives able to bring to life projects and interests that wouldn’t have been possible without this decentralized platform.

@sndbox : Any words of advice for creative professionals new to Steemit and the world of blockchain?


@natureofbeing : First and foremost I want to encourage Steemians to dive in. Try blogging on whatever you’re interested in regardless of whether you think others will approve of it (upvote). If you give yourself room to figure out how to use this as a catalyst for your own creativity and interests, you’ll find your place here that’s enduring.

I also want to say - like a broken record - challenge yourself to write well, to tell your story well and reach deep to come from a more honest place here than you’re accustomed to. It’s ok to experiment in order to figure out how you want to use this platform, it’s here to empower you in whatever way is most useful for your life.


A big thanks to @natureofbeing (one of our amazing Stewards) for sharing her story. Be sure to check out her work! (50% of the SBD earned from this post will go directly to @natureofbeing account to support her incredible craft and content.)

171002_Icon-Diagrams-05.pngSndbox Stewards are collaborators and influencers who have a pulse on talent and creativity within the STEEM Blockchain ecosystem. These Stewards aid the growth of Sndbox through feedback, votes and the nominations of new members.

Help us spread the word. Follow our Twitter and YouTube Channel!


sndbox_footer.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for the feature guys, this was a lot of fun! I love being a part of @sndbox....inspires me almost every day.

Ruth, my favorite !!! <3 <3 <3 One of the most ethical, kind and honest Steemians! Ok, and incredible artist ;))) The last one is my favoriiiiite :D :D :D So glad I web-met you - can't wait to meet you in person!!!! :* Thank you for bringing me into @sndbox, thank you for your advice, you listening to me whining in the middle of the night or day, thank you for being an authentic Steemit example !!!! Time to DIVE IN yes @natureofbeing !!! :D

wow, you are such a dear, thank you so much for your extremely kind words, makes my heart swell! And I'm so lucky to know YOU, it's my great pleasure to develop such a lovely friendship with you. I have great appreciation for your talent, passion and big heart and look forward to many more adventures together here on steemit and hopefully in person too! xoxo

Thank you deary!!! I never expected to bond with someone online that much, but especially after SteemFest, that you were there, live on my phone, seeing you and all, I feel I actually know you in person already! :D But it's arranged... 2018 ... nyc ... ;)))

@natureofbeing thank you so much for taking the time to talk with us! You bring a tremendous amount of experience and Steemit wisdom to the table. We're thrilled to have you as a Steward! :D

To everyone, be sure to follow @natureofbeing and strike up a conversation with her :)

thanks so much, it's such an honor!! Love being a part of steemit and sndbox - you guys give me food for thought (inspiration) almost every day and I really appreciate the connection we've built and maintained over the last year through thick and thin here. Looking forward to what's to come together!

Great interview on both ends. Really enjoyed reading this carefully. All your points made I feel the same. This is not only revolutionary it's life changing and growing at a furious rate. I too am so honored to be a part of steemit and sndbox. Thanks again so much for the nomination @natureofbeing and thank you for the warm welcoming @sndbox.

Great interview, really great questions. I'm about to check through your backlogs of interviews now, because this is such a great idea. As an artist here on Steemit, it's nice to find a place where quality interviews of other Steemian artists/creatives will be collected. Thank you tons for this. What a contribution to the community.

I agree @jessandthesea, I really like these interviews too....maybe you could conduct some interviews? I'd collaborate on this with you if you're interested PM on steemitchat I'm Ruth Greenberg.

A grand dispeller of cryptocurrency myths! @thenatureofbeing has modeled a meaningful way to engage the Steem blockchain: instilling values in the content, and thus “adding value to the blockchain.” So appreciative of @sndbox and its veteran stewards for putting this dynamic front and center as steem grows.

Thanks for such kind and thoughtful words @spectrums! We find that cultivating a blend of crypto-veterans and newbies helps get folks comfortable here, faster, and for the long term. @natureofbeing is setting a powerful precedent to learn from.

Such a great interview! Definitely following @natureofbeing now. I love art and creativity, but haven't got to play around with ceramics yet. More of this please :D

Thanks @jonasontheroof! Glad you enjoyed the interview and found an inspiring Steemian to follow as well!

Great post love it

Ive always loved @natureofbeing s writing, besides her ceramic art which is amazing. Reading her blog is like sitting down and talking with a good friend.

Hi @reddust, thanks so much for your continued friendship and support, you have always been on my list of favs here :-)

Beautiful and eloquent work. Thank you for highlighting this worthy artist and contributor. Will follow @natureofbeing, sounds very promising.

I've known @natureofbeing's amazing work since my first steps on Steemit: it really deserves more sharing and visibility because, well, don't you see?, it is awesome! :)

Thanks so much @paolobeneforti, very kind!!

Truly very good advices from you @natureofbeing. And the artwork is amazing, love mosaic:-)
I have been on Steemit for 5 months now and I agree on the learning curve... I takes a while. The best thing here is the nice people I meet every day.

Thanks so much @kerlund74 and I couldn't agree more about the nice people here :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50