You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Interview with @sircork - One of the SP Delegators of PAL (Peace, Abundance, and Liberty) (I Cried)

in #interview7 years ago (edited)

Beyond this door, is either certain death. Or absolutely nothing. No one knows. Percentage of probability? Unknown and cannot be computed with no comparative analysis or empirical historic data on previous threshold crossings.

You gonna go thru that door? Or not.

Sort:  

Well, if going through the door absolutely saves other human lives and reduces their suffering, then yes. It's not just a matter of my own self-interest, after all.

I'll be less popular for it, but I'm not sure it's a risk I'm prepared to take with my eternal or not afterlife or not.

It's not about popularity. Popularity doesn't matter after death.

If you want to play with Pascal's wager, as it seems you do, what makes you think that this position of yours isn't what will keep you out of heaven? Doesn't God want us to be kind? Isn't it kind to help those who need help? Aren't we expected to be Christlike, and didn't Christ give of his blood to save humanity?
Caveat that I'm trying to use your own sense of logic in this, I am not convinced of the existence of God or Christ, but since you're concerned about the risks associated with a possible afterlife, doesn't NOT being an organ donor carry the same unknown and unknowable risks that BEING an organ donor does?

You have made me think, with this entry @Improv. Because now I face a paradox my long passed, rural southern Illinois born and raised father would often summarize to me during my decision making moments with one of his endless "dad idioms" during my growing up times.

Damned if you do, and damned if you don't.

Damnit.

You may have me on this one, but I'm not conceding yet. First I need some coffee and time to chew on it. No not the coffee, the concept, silly boy.

All good coffee crunches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48