Introducing me, my life and why I am excited about Steemit and what is to come...

in #internet8 years ago (edited)

A big hello to the Steemit community!

My name is Kyle, I am 29, I am a chef by profession but have many other tricks up my sleeve! I am currently travelling Australia with my work, working in a ski resort (would you believe Australia has half decent snow!) called Falls Creek in Victoria. 

BUT STOP! Before I go any further, let me begin the tale and why I am excited about Steemit...

I was born in South London but from the age of seven grew up amongst the quaint countryside in the South of England. I was lucky enough to attend a half decent secondary school, gaining what I feel was a good education. Looking back I feel my passion for entrepreneurship, drama and writing came from just two exceptional teachers which, throughout my time in school inspired and directed my natural abilities which I still value today. 

During this time my parents finally decided that our first country house had become too small for them and my other four siblings and we moved to a detached five bedroom in a small Hamlet even further from civilisation! So here I was at the ripe old age of thirteen looking for a job and as luck would have it we happened to move directly opposite a local pub. 

So here I was! My first kitchen experience! I started working as a dishwasher in this pub and the Irish chef had escaped a hectic Dublin chefs life to that of solitude and seclusion in the East Sussex countryside. How lucky was I?! This award winning chef, just so happened to move to my town, at that specific time in my life and there I was within a few short weeks being trained by a Michelin chef on all things kitchen!

My life was changed irreversibly without me even knowing it!

So there I was, the most important years of a young persons life gaining an education to develop my academic side and during my free time being trained in the Art of cooking. Throughout all my time in school and college I always thought that I wanted to pursue a career in the arts of perhaps Journalism but as always life throws surprises and my own personal experiences taught me enough to realise that I desired other more important things out of the life I have been blessed with. 

At a Crossroads

 

At the end of college I wasn't quite ready to continue onto another 3 years of education at University so off I went travelling with my closest friend Vikki around Africa for half a year. From Cairo to Cape Town down the East coast of Africa, we enjoyed and experienced so many amazing moments.

On this trip I developed and nurtured a passion for travel and all that comes with it. The time to think clearly and develop your inner self, something which is sometimes hard to do in the normal everyday rat race of working life. But not only this I realised that I wanted to see as much of this beautiful amazing planet in my life and all the self development that comes along with it. Yet this self realisation came with the acknowledgement that I wanted to become a success in life and wanted to work towards my own specific goals in order to achieve this.

Cutting a long story as short as I can...

At the ripe old age of 29 (lol!) I have learnt enough to realise that not one plan never works out exactly how you planned. Things happen, life changes, plans change. Before I left for Africa I thought I wanted to pursue a career I guess just because that was what I had always been told was the 'right' or correct thing to do. But after travelling and opening my mind in many different ways I realised that I had no boundaries in life and I could do, literally whatever I wanted!

SO, I formed a game plan. I came back from travelling for two years, gaining invaluable kitchen experience in Spain for nearly a year.

I enrolled in University and passed with a BA Honours degree in English Literature & Business three long and hard arduous years later. During this time studying I worked hard in a top end Chelsea restaurant as many hours as my studies could afford. London, the times I had there and all that I became during my early twenties enabled me to develop and hone in on the skills I had always aspired to.

Not fitting to the norm. 

I tried lots of different things during my time in London. I tried opening a market stall in Brick Lane Market, Liverpool Street, managing a band, opening a sushi market stall, investing in an online business and nothing seemed to go my way. After a long time feeling all my immediate opportunities had been exhausted I decided I needed to expand my horizons and off I flew, leaving the city of my birth for other opportunities.

Asia, then Australia and a lot of interesting stories in between I have had the amazing opportunity to be introduced to Steemit by a very close friend of mine Amin. I have made an investment in cryptocurrency before and am highly interested and excited about this changing side of the monetary system that the world knows. And now this! Steemit is changing up things! Why can't we all, as bloggers, commentators be rewarded for our content?! It makes sense doesn't it? I like the fact that I can share my experiences with like minded people and be part of something special. 

So Steemit community without much further ado I shall conclude!

Thankyou for listening to my story! From my passion for writing to my passion for cooking, travelling and sharing experiences I hope you enjoy the stories to come. It is my pleasure to be part of something new and I look forward to seeing what else Steemit becomes. It is an exciting future we are all part of! 

Thank you for listening Steemit community! Kyle :)   



 





Sort:  

Big welcome to our community @travelchef and waiting to see some good recipe from you :D

thank you @sitaru! I will share a lot with you guys, not only recipes!

Body fluids @endaksi1 ? Not quite with you?

Sorry mate, my sense of humour is somewhat distorted from working kitchens for half my life. Just ignore me XD

All good @endaksi1 i understand :)

Hi Kyle!
Wow! You're touching a real lion on the photo. It's sooo cool! Tell more about traveling Africa, it's very interesting!

Yes @crypto.owl it was a Lion in Zimbabwe 2007. An amazing experience, we walked with them all day! I will write about my adventures soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38