Sort:  

I’m sure that most of what people think is true here in the US is total bunk. When I was in Israel about 6 years ago, my husband was just sure I would get blown up by some crazy person. I think I felt safer in Jerusalem than any big city I’ve been in at home.

It's true that most of what we see on the news is sensationalist fearmongering. Karly almost cancelled her visit because of the volotile situation involving the Saudi arrest of the lebanese leader which appeared to be about to spark ww3. Gladly she didn't and it didn't (yet). Generally, life goes on as normal for most people. Saying that, life as normal for palestinians living under occupation is far from what we'd consider normal . The tension and unrest is tangible, especially around Jerusalem, which is now a very divided city. The feeling of safety is largely due to draconian security measures used to control and subdue half of the population. Here in galilee where I live, there is relatively more coexistence and I certainly feel safer walking around Arab neighbourhoods here than some parts of England where I come from.

Thank you for the report of the situation from someone who is there experiencing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65