Please Be Safe On Social Media!

in #internet8 years ago

Greetings,
I hope you're all having an amazing day wherever it is that you may be.

I'm new here, just like a lot of the rest of you are.
I know that many of you may not be overly joyed with what I about to say, but it's quite important and something that should not be disregarded. However, feel free to do with it as you please. I'm only just trying to help.

I'm just beginning to explore this amazing and revolutionary social site, however, I want to stress the importance of keeping safe over the Internet.

As incredible as the Internet is, there are plenty of people lurking in the depths seeking every opportunity to disrupt social norms. With online bullying, violence, abuse, perverseness and trolling, one must be careful when posting online. I know how this site can get exciting and how eager you may be to post. However, please think twice before including anything that could affect your personal safety.
I recommend that you do the following before posting:

  1. Read over what you've written to make sure you don't accidentally include any personal details
  2. Reveiw photos before posting to check for anything containing personal information in the background. (Remember, a simple QR code or bar code on your boarding pass can be used to reveal your true identity.
  3. Don't reveal any contact information with someone you don't feel comfortable with.
  4. Be polite. This won't help you with safeguarding your information per day, but it will help this already awesome community to thrive!

Just my 2 stem :)

Over and out

Sort:  

I upvoted you.

Wеll writtеn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87