How The Net Changed My Memory Archiving Habits

in #internet6 years ago

Today’s fast pace of information has changed the way I sift through and store it. The action steps were too busy abruptly changing from analog to digital that my own memorization process became neglected. It was so gradual,that I didn't notice it until after the internet world was long established and many psychological case studies were done to reflect it’s after effects. In retrospect, it was happening before the internet exploded by way of cable television, consumer convenience, AM/FM radios, pharmaceutical companies, and even our diet. Instead of trying to memorize a passage in the book or remember an important statistic, I found myself spending more time deciding where to store the memory instead of storing and memorizing the memory itself. The internet changed our primary way of storing memorable happenings into instantly sharing moments on social media and then reading other’s reactions. Also, many websites that publish amazing information began to bulge my bookmarks bar into a hodgepodge of domain names almost impossible to navigate reliably. I still have trouble thumbing through my most visited URLs trying to find a blog post I didn’t have time to finish reading the day before. It’s frustrating because I feel like my reference material becomes too bloated to comb through efficiently, and retain to my own memory.My memories jumble more and more each day, and my brain fills with these to-do lists that each becomes a dusty I.O.U sitting where a motivating thought should have been instead.My attention span shortens, and I am simply scatter-brained. Moving on to the next matter at hand while leaving old ends left untied. I’ve tried to comb at these slippages recently and found that when I try to let more memories sink-in to deep thought, I also make it a point to store them in my hard drive as much as I do in the labyrinth of my brain and even mark it on a calendar connected to the cloud. As a result, I spend as much more time organizing them, making sure I can retrieve them on demand, as I do collecting them or simply living through life’s lessons. My memories are now just filed in folders, and are no longer as easily accessible—and searchable as I expected, while the need to search through them may never arise, so my extra foot work might as well be in vain. Just for peace of mind; and in case my memory of their location fails, I’ll have a redundant backup image that will bring facts back to light instead of a ghost of a departed thought. So, I believe...

Sort:  

The comment for this post from @bountylog is a SCAM! Posted from a hacked account. <Autosteem (dot) info> is phishing for steemit passwords. Do not open that site. Beware !!!

Congratulations @redfocs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This post is worth a follow ! Did you know that you can automate your account? You Get 0.1 STEEM Just to Join!
AutoSteem(dot)info

Congratulations @redfocs, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33